Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

tx lipo?

Old 01-15-2011, 08:30 PM
  #1  
andybenton
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: radcliff, KY
Posts: 755
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tx lipo?

hey guys, im looking for a lipo tx pack, 3s, 11.1 volt, trying to find one currently in stock,

if any one knows of where one is, or has one that works and they would mayb part with, let me know

thanks
andy
Old 01-15-2011, 09:06 PM
  #2  
Fuel Crazy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Blue Ridge, GA
Posts: 472
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

What radio do you use?I use a 2800mah 3S pack that came from CommonSenseRC in my 3PMFASST. AWESOMEpack.. go 6-7 months without having to recharge, and even then voltage is usually only down to 10.4-10.5 when i finally stick it on the charger. I see now they only show a 2500mah square pack that is for most of the JR radios, and maybe the 3PK/M11's.


Brian @RocketCityRacing shows he has both the 2500mah square and 2800mah flat packs in stock.

2500mah square
http://www.rocketcityracing.com/prod...2&item_id=1586

2800mah flat
http://www.rocketcityracing.com/prod...2&item_id=1587
Old 01-16-2011, 11:42 AM
  #3  
andybenton
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: radcliff, KY
Posts: 755
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

thanks for the links, but i dont think either of those will fit, its one of those el cheapo radios from flysky,
the cheapest one they sell, the one that doesnt have a screen or anything.

the ones i found that will fit are turnigy brand ones that hobby king sells, and i cant seem to find it in stock any where
Old 01-16-2011, 02:05 PM
  #4  
Fuel Crazy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Blue Ridge, GA
Posts: 472
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

what size does it have to be? Doesnt seem like you can get a 3S pack all that small to me? Even the 2S packs i use to use for RX packs were bigger then the normal 6v NIMH hump packs i use.
Old 01-16-2011, 06:02 PM
  #5  
andybenton
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: radcliff, KY
Posts: 755
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

actually, heres a link to the pack
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=9787

i know i could order this one, and it makes the thread seam a bit pointless, but i was hoping i could find one of similar price, in stock somewhere, i dont really wanna wait 30 days, then another 20 for shipping
Old 01-17-2011, 05:28 AM
  #6  
Fuel Crazy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Blue Ridge, GA
Posts: 472
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

It says that pack fits in radios that use the 8/AA trays... which is exactly what the 2800mah 3S CommonSenseRC pack does.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca82188.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	71.4 KB
ID:	1549338  
Old 01-17-2011, 04:27 PM
  #7  
andybenton
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: radcliff, KY
Posts: 755
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

thanks for the help man, i measured things wrong, and that pack will fit,

sorry about that~! lol

thanks again.
Old 01-17-2011, 05:59 PM
  #8  
Fuel Crazy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Blue Ridge, GA
Posts: 472
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

No problem. I know theres a good bit in price difference... but i know the CommonSense packs have good cells. Ive been running them for over 2 years now without any kind of problem at all.. thats why i recommend them.
Old 01-17-2011, 08:47 PM
  #9  
andybenton
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: radcliff, KY
Posts: 755
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

well thats not an unreasonable price in my book, so ill go ahead and pick one up. i was actually doing this build on a budget to prove to a friend of mine that RC is only as exspensive as you make it... or how frequently you wreck and break things.

so i picked up a used losi xxx g4+ kit for 50 bucks, no electronics, went brushless and 2s lipo, with a flysky radio, and to take it a step further, new tires, wheels, body, and bought a tx lipo, spent less than 300 bucks on the whole deal, and its a fun little buggy. this is my second one. the first was great, but i sold it, and regretted getting rid of it.


now if i can just manage to quite buying stuff for my land fleet i can get my mono up and running lmao
Old 01-18-2011, 06:09 AM
  #10  
Fuel Crazy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Blue Ridge, GA
Posts: 472
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

What kind of mono ya got? I have a blue metal flake Lazer 45.. great boat.
Old 01-19-2011, 12:20 AM
  #11  
andybenton
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: radcliff, KY
Posts: 755
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

i have a smaller 25in fiberglass hull i got from mike, (toyotatruckin) sweet little hull, and he gave me a heck of a price, right now im still getting stuff together for it, still debating nitro or electric for it, i have a brand new go .18, and a few good pipes, but i think i want to save those for a hydro, so im thinking this mono will go electric, prolly brushless, and looking for something along the lines of 3-5s lipo, still all in the works.

id throw in some picks, but i lost them all when my hard drive crashed, ill try to sneak and get my wifes camera. lol
Old 01-19-2011, 05:46 AM
  #12  
Fuel Crazy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Blue Ridge, GA
Posts: 472
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

Cool. I know Mike pretty well... we talk all the time. 25" Mono with a UL1 or SV27R system would probably be fun.

I have a cat thats not much bigger (34.5") that has a promod Zenoah in it lol!
Old 01-19-2011, 12:38 PM
  #13  
andybenton
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: radcliff, KY
Posts: 755
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

lol i bet that cat is a real sceamer.

right now for that hull, like i said, im still confused about what i really want to do with it, but im pretty sure i want to save my nitro stuff for a rigger, or thinking about trying to come up with a miss bud hull for it.

im not wanting to make it something rediculously fast, just a reasonably fast weekend runner, there is no boat club or anything around here, so racing them is not really an issue,

right now, its looking like im going to go the cheapest route i can on it, lol. money is tight, and this is my stress reliefe. lets just say i need some reliefe!


Old 01-19-2011, 02:42 PM
  #14  
Fuel Crazy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Blue Ridge, GA
Posts: 472
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

yea its a handfull to get dialed in. Through the traps at IMPBASAW event in Huntsville it went 77mph only 4th time in the water. Been a best of 79.3 on gps sofar. Hoping to go 80+ this april in Huntsville through the traps with it (record is 81.8mph 2way average).

If you go with the Aquacraft stuff, you could build the boat without spendin a whole lot of money. $70 for the SV27R 1800kv motor or $60 for the UL1 2030kv motor. $12 for the coupler. $70 for the 45amp ESC or $90 for the 60amp ESC.

With either of those setups, im sure that little mono would be pleanty quick. Or you could just sell the mono and build a JAE 21FE Rigger..i heard they've been running 60+nph with the UL1 setups (2030kv/60amp) on 4S

Old 01-19-2011, 04:35 PM
  #15  
andybenton
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: radcliff, KY
Posts: 755
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

im thinking of putting this hardware set on it, but its for a 150 flex shaft, and that seems over kill.... my budget for hardware is 100 bucks, 
if you know of a cheaper route, that would be as complete as that one, i wouldnt mind the imput
 http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/pro...od=ros-monosys
then topping it all off with a simple brushed setup i have in my closet, just to get some run time on it, after all switching motors and esc's is no big deal.

truth be told, this is my first boat build, not my first boat, just my first build, so im kinda dumb founded by all the stuff, if need be, for the rest of the help we could move over to the boat section

impressive numbers on your boat, good luck at the traps next time.
Old 01-22-2011, 05:25 PM
  #16  
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North West Indiana
Posts: 12,798
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: tx lipo?

this might be a bit late but I just put http://www.hobbypartz.com/83p-1800mah-3s1p-111-15c.html into a Flysky GT3, and GT3B, and it fits with quite a bit of room to spare (literally did it yesterday)
its thickness is like perfect when compared to the battery holder they use. Not 100% sure if the same holder is in the GT2 seeing I've not taken my GT2 apart yet. But I'm guessing they use the same battery tray in it (I held the lipo up and it seems to look like it will fit)

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.