Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car Radio Equipment
Reload this Page >

Broke antenna wire Flysky GT3B - Any suggestions?!

Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

Broke antenna wire Flysky GT3B - Any suggestions?!

Old 06-07-2012, 02:55 PM
  #1  
nazUK
Member
Thread Starter
 
nazUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Broke antenna wire Flysky GT3B - Any suggestions?!

Hi
Toke my truck out today for a run and found it was losing signal and cutting off.
I previously opened my transmitter for doing some mods but accidentally broke the wire from the transmitter circuit board, I did solder it back on and all seemed fine but when I toke it out today when it goes about 50 yards away it stops moving, engine still running, and as soon as I walk closer it starts moving but all this is still very temperamental.
Diagnosed the problem and put it down to the the aerial.
I'm presuming I need to re-solder it but should I be soldering it a certain way or should I buy another wire or could I use something new in it's place to make it better?

Thanks
Old 06-08-2012, 01:41 AM
  #2  
Foxy
Senior Member
 
Foxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kingston UK, but living in Athens, GREECE
Posts: 18,082
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Broke antenna wire Flysky GT3B - Any suggestions?!

You should use the original wire (or a wire from a receiver cut to EXACTLY the same length as the original before it was cut) and probably a high silver content solder just to be safe (I'm not sure how much good quality solder would help to be honest, but it's what I would do to minimize risk of the solder being the problem). Did you cut the original wire when you soldered it back on the first time? If so, this is why you have range problems. FHSS aerials have to be specific lengths, there are several lengths that work, but lengths in between cause signal degradation, it's got something to do with signal wavelength, I'm not really sure the of science behind it. If you do end up needing to replace the antenna, you will need the right type of wire, and I have no idea personally where you could find it. www.modelsport.co.uk and www.apexmodels.com (both UK) both sell the exact same unit under the Ansmann brand, you'll find it in their online catalogues. It might be worth giving them a ring and asking if they can help at all. They may even have a dead unit they can send you for spares.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.