Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car Radio Equipment
Reload this Page >

Where to plug voltage regulator in?

Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

Where to plug voltage regulator in?

Old 01-04-2016, 03:58 AM
  #1  
thunder down under
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where to plug voltage regulator in?

Hi guys, running savox servos, lipo battery and spektrum telemetry receiver, my question is the only spare port I have left on my receiver is the bind port, can I plug a voltage regulator into this port or should I splice it into the battery power leads, any help would be great, cheers
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20160104_195909.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	1.62 MB
ID:	2139639   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160104_200103.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	1.31 MB
ID:	2139640  

Last edited by thunder down under; 01-04-2016 at 04:02 AM. Reason: Adding pics
Old 01-04-2016, 07:57 AM
  #2  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 4,881
Received 37 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Good question. Fist thing I would do is ask the manufacturer. Second, whip out the old multimeter and check the voltage at the bind slot/port's -/+ terminals and see if it's the same as the rest of the non telemetry ports. If it is the same voltage, chances are that you're in luck. But don't quote me on this, as I have not ran into this situation before.

Now that I think about this more, I have to check out which terminals are use when a bind plug is inserted into the receiver's bind port.

Last edited by RustyUs; 01-04-2016 at 08:49 AM.
Old 01-04-2016, 08:16 AM
  #3  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 4,881
Received 37 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

After looking at some of my receivers...the 3rd channel is also used as my binding port . Bind plug jumps the signal and negative terminals together.
Old 01-04-2016, 09:00 AM
  #4  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 4,881
Received 37 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

After thinking about and re-reading your OP, I see you said "servos". I know some glitch busters will alleviate some brown outs with one thirsty servo.

How is power being apply to the receiver?

If you are using multiple servos that tend to suck the life out of some systems.....maybe an external BEC would better suit your needs (if you're powering through a ESC).
Old 01-04-2016, 02:42 PM
  #5  
thunder down under
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I'm running nitro with a lipo battery so I think I can use the bind port?
Old 01-04-2016, 03:08 PM
  #6  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 4,881
Received 37 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Novak has replied back....

To
  • Eric


[h=3]Message body[/h] The Glitch Buster "should be fine" plugged into "any open slot" on the RX, Bind plug, Aux Channel Plug, or anything that is not in use.


If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to ask, we are always glad to assist.
You will find complete product return information in the CUSTOMER SUPPORT section of our website.
http://www.teamnovak.com/support
All Instruction Manuals can be found in the DOWNLOAD section:

http://www.teamnovak.com/downloads

Thank You,
Charlie Suangka
[email protected]
Novak R/C
19 Rancho Circle

Lake Forest CA 92630
www.teamnovak.com
Old 01-04-2016, 03:12 PM
  #7  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 4,881
Received 37 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by thunder down under View Post
I'm running nitro with a lipo battery so I think I can use the bind port?
My gut feeling is it'll be OK. Just make sure of the polarity of the capacitor.
Old 01-04-2016, 03:50 PM
  #8  
thunder down under
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Awesome, thanks guys, happy new year!!!!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.