Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

3PK Synth question

Old 02-14-2005, 03:58 AM
  #1  
RastaForI
Member
Thread Starter
 
RastaForI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hamden, CT
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3PK Synth question

Hello,... when my new 3pk synth is in just display mode, the screen says rf. It doesn't send a signal to my rx but the manual says when the main power is off, and you use the small display switch to use your 3pk with tx'ing it's supposed to say disp

is this just witht the synth, or is something wrong?
Old 02-15-2005, 06:30 PM
  #2  
RastaForI
Member
Thread Starter
 
RastaForI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hamden, CT
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3PK Synth question

I couldn't wait and called the Futaba tech line. The tech said that the synthesized 3PK displays RF regardless of the mode, but it will not transmit in the display mode even though not acknowledged on the screen.

[In case anyone wanted to know]
Old 02-15-2005, 07:13 PM
  #3  
cardriverx
Senior Member
 
cardriverx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: media, PA
Posts: 1,210
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3PK Synth question

im thinkin of gettin the 3pm-tfs for my car truck and (soon to be) buggy. how user friendly is it? and how is the synth feature? also will [link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXGRP0&P=7]these[/link] batts work with it?
Old 02-16-2005, 06:45 PM
  #4  
cardriverx
Senior Member
 
cardriverx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: media, PA
Posts: 1,210
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3PK Synth question

anyone?????????/
Old 02-16-2005, 10:02 PM
  #5  
RastaForI
Member
Thread Starter
 
RastaForI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hamden, CT
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3PK Synth question

ORIGINAL: cardriverx

anyone?????????/
I have both the 3PK Synth (Black) and the 3PM TFS Synth. I use them both with Novak XXtra Synth Receivers. I use the 3PK for racing buggy's and the 3PM TFS primarily for my son to race against me or the Monster truck.

Currently I'm waiting for the Spektrum DSM system to attach to the 3PK or Futaba's own Synthesized Receivers.

At first the 3PK is information overload when you pull it out of the box and fan through the manual, but after a while the menus become easy to access and the important / frequently used functions are easy to get to and program.

Going from the 3PK to the 3PM TFS you're spoiled by all the text info, back light, and size of the screen of the 3PK, but in it's own right the 3PM TFS has all necessary stuff to get the job done and if your using it without thinking about the "bells & whistles" of the 3PK you could be happy with just that.

For a battery pack I'd stick with Futaba's http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXTV61&P=V

or the 700.
Old 02-17-2005, 11:42 PM
  #6  
Tigger N. Bennie
Senior Member
 
Tigger N. Bennie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Track
Posts: 8,396
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: 3PK Synth question

ORIGINAL: RastaForI
Currently I'm waiting for the Spektrum DSM system to attach to the 3PK or Futaba's own Synthesized Receivers.
Let us know if they got the bugs out of it from the M8 fiasco.
Old 02-22-2005, 04:37 PM
  #7  
Tracer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Tracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mississauga, ON, CANADA
Posts: 122
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3PK Synth question

ORIGINAL: RastaForI
Currently I'm waiting for the Spektrum DSM system to attach to the 3PK or Futaba's own Synthesized Receivers.
I'm so not going to bother getting the synth TX Module.
I'm torn between selling all my FM Receivers and going spektrum
or selling everything and going nomadio.
But the one thing i'm NOT doing is going synth...
kind of silly now.
Doesn't solve nearly as much problems as the spektrum system.
Old 02-22-2005, 05:19 PM
  #8  
RastaForI
Member
Thread Starter
 
RastaForI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hamden, CT
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3PK Synth question

Yeah if you already have crystal fm or am systems maybe you don't see the advantages.

But I was racing with RTR am radios before I went synth, I went from 1 channel to 30 with one purchase. Yes to buy an M8 or 3PK UNsythesized two yeas ago was the best you could do. That same purchase now,...I would consider a mistake.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.