Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

do I have AM or FM?

Old 08-22-2005, 04:44 PM
  #1  
RcSuCkA
Thread Starter
 
RcSuCkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 511
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default do I have AM or FM?

hey guys. Im real n00b when it comes to the radios on rc cars. How do I know if I have AM or FM? I'm on channel 70 at 75.590 mhz. thanks.
Old 08-22-2005, 04:49 PM
  #2  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I have AM or FM?

It can be either, which radio do you have?
Old 08-22-2005, 07:13 PM
  #3  
RcSuCkA
Thread Starter
 
RcSuCkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 511
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I have AM or FM?

I have a Futaba T2PH

this one

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXASX3**&P=0

but my crystal is different.
Old 08-22-2005, 07:20 PM
  #4  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I have AM or FM?

It is a AM radio
Old 08-23-2005, 02:00 PM
  #5  
Blue04GT
Senior Member
 
Blue04GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: blackwood, NJ
Posts: 273
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I have AM or FM?


ORIGINAL: RcSuCkA

I have a Futaba T2PH

this one

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXASX3**&P=0

but my crystal is different.

HAHA...if you would have read the top of that page you put in the link you would have seen it was AM. Anyway...all 2 channel radios are AM.
Old 08-23-2005, 03:04 PM
  #6  
RcSuCkA
Thread Starter
 
RcSuCkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 511
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I have AM or FM?

hey, dont make fun of me cuz im a n00b when it comes to radios I didnt know if it was AM or FM because it had a different crystal then the one in the picture. But can I put an FM crystal in that radio? Help me here people!
Old 08-23-2005, 03:27 PM
  #7  
Pigsmightfly
Senior Member
 
Pigsmightfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Suffolk, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 324
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: do I have AM or FM?

You can't use FM crystal in AM radio

Different frequency crystals are colour coded to make it easy to distinguish between them hence they look different.
Old 08-23-2005, 04:20 PM
  #8  
Engrose
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 1,445
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I have AM or FM?


ORIGINAL: Blue04GT

Anyway...all 2 channel radios are AM.
That is not true!

I have a 2 channel FM radio.


Old 08-23-2005, 07:29 PM
  #9  
RcSuCkA
Thread Starter
 
RcSuCkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 511
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I have AM or FM?

but my bro says that the crystal is FM becuase its on channel 70 at 75.590 mhz.
Old 08-23-2005, 07:56 PM
  #10  
Tigger N. Bennie
Senior Member
 
Tigger N. Bennie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Track
Posts: 8,396
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: do I have AM or FM?

Did you actually remove the crystals from the transmitter/receiver and holder?
Some of the AM crystals have something like AM Rx/Tx or ##RA on them.
Then again, if your "bro" says one thing, why are you asking unless you doubt him.
Old 08-24-2005, 06:44 AM
  #11  
gerwen
 
gerwen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Thomas, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2,088
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: do I have AM or FM?

I had an AM radio on channel 70. The one that came with my evader was 75mhz AM on channel 70. 75mhz band isn't exclusive to FM.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.