Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??

Old 02-23-2008, 11:38 PM
  #1  
BIG22BIRD
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CHILLIWACK, BC, CANADA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??

a buddy gave me his truck to fix. esc was disconnected. how do i know what wires go to what motor. it is a gt speed control 14.4 v fail safe 70451 i think it is hotbodies
Old 02-23-2008, 11:42 PM
  #2  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??

It doesn't matter, the reds are same and the blacks are the same spot.

The input connectors would matter if you changed them.
Old 02-23-2008, 11:46 PM
  #3  
BIG22BIRD
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CHILLIWACK, BC, CANADA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??

ive tried hooking it up, but it appears all i get is 4 volts, batteries are full. and at thotttle full i get 4 volts. and a flashing red light? i have no clue?
Old 02-23-2008, 11:47 PM
  #4  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??

Maybe the end-points need set. Or set for your particular radio?

I'm thinking it was an auto-set, but may have a manual procedure as well.
Old 02-23-2008, 11:50 PM
  #5  
BIG22BIRD
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CHILLIWACK, BC, CANADA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??

yea maybe, i have no book for it, now i test the output i get 14 volts, then i hook up the motor, and then the voltage drops to 8. wired. motot will not turn, but when i hot wire the motor to a battery its fine? argh
Old 02-23-2008, 11:59 PM
  #6  
BIG22BIRD
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CHILLIWACK, BC, CANADA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??

i just hooked up my novac superduty esc, it works fine, turns the motors, forward and reverse. , maybe i have a fried esc.
Old 02-24-2008, 12:00 AM
  #7  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??

Hmm, can you test the input voltage when it's acting up? (with motor hooked)
Old 02-24-2008, 12:14 AM
  #8  
BIG22BIRD
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CHILLIWACK, BC, CANADA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??

ok fresh batteries, volt meter reads 16 volts. i just tap the motor on the wires with volt meter hooked, volts drop off to nothing. 0.0 no turn on motor. when i remove the motor voltage only goes back to 7.9.
Old 02-24-2008, 12:17 AM
  #9  
BIG22BIRD
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CHILLIWACK, BC, CANADA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??

i turn esc off, it will have 16 volts again, til i touch motors on, i bet its the esc.
Old 02-24-2008, 12:18 AM
  #10  
BIG22BIRD
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CHILLIWACK, BC, CANADA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??


ORIGINAL: BIG22BIRD

i turn esc off, then on then it has 16 volts again, till i touch motors on, i bet its the esc.
Old 02-24-2008, 09:54 AM
  #11  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??

If you are testing the input then the problem is dead battery/battery connection/connector/esc connection. Something on the input side. Islolate problem by checking each battery (put dvm leads in the back side of the connector) and try to get it to act up again.
Old 02-18-2009, 10:39 PM
  #12  
modenas5
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Slaton, TX
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??

is there a certian way to hook up the thing? i am trying to run just the one motor and one battery, what do i need to do to make this work? pm me with information. i dont have the book to this thing and and a manual would be great to look at, thanks!
Old 02-19-2009, 02:28 PM
  #13  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GT SPEED CONTROL WIREING??

The motor leads are dumb, just pick a black and a red. The battery leads are smarter. Use a single battery on the side that powers up the esc servos. Use a jumper http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXPYB3&P=7 on the other side.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.