Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

Basic car radio questions

Old 03-18-2008, 02:25 PM
pwood

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Basic car radio questions

Hi Guys

I have been toying with the idea of getting a 1/8th Buggy. I have been flying planes for the last 25 years and helis for the last 6 years.
I am a little confused with some of the radio functions on the car radios. So help please....

I have been doing some research on the Spectrum DX3R and the Futaba 3PM Fasst. They both seem good. I am not intending to do a shoot out, just ask some basic questions.

Both radios have ual rate (steering rate), is it like an aircraft radio, ie a toggle switch with a 2 pre-selected steering % OR is it like a trim button to progresivily increase and decrease the steering % as you are driving. Is this just done by feel?

Both have: Throttle and Brake trim. Trim usually moves the centre point of the servo, so why two trims on the one channel? I guess the brake trim is actually the brake end point to change the max brake setting while you are driving. Why do you need a throttle trim? surely the carb idle stop screw needs to be set for an accurate idle. a radio trim setting would just be over ridden as soon as you brake?

The DX3R has: Dual rate 9steering rate) overide, what is it? Push the button and get a pre-selected steering % while you hold the button? ie overiding the previous dual rate setting?

The 3PM has: ABS brakes. the instructions explane it well, but is in necessary on an off-road buggy?

The 3PM has: Steering delay. We spend more and more on fast servos, So why a delay function? is it necessary? If it is to stop jerky steering, would steering expo not do the job?

The 3PM has : Throttle delay. What for? to stop wheel spins?