Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car Radio Equipment
Reload this Page >

i got my new radio...and now i have a problem

Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

i got my new radio...and now i have a problem

Old 03-23-2008, 04:23 PM
  #1  
cmerritt
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default i got my new radio...and now i have a problem

okay so my hump pack shorted out or something and toasted my receiver, servos, etc.. so i thought i should i spend the extr*****$ and get a nicer quality radio. i was thinking maybe one of these. i don't wanna spend a fortune, like under $200 is good... also please recommend other radios.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/3450

http://www.rcplanet.com/Futaba_3PM_F...p/futk2121.htm

http://www.rcplanet.com/Futaba_3PM_3...p/futk2020.htm

p.s. im a basher and don't plan to race because there are no tracks in my area. and i don't need to worry about interference from other radios because no one else is into r/c around here.
Old 03-23-2008, 04:39 PM
  #2  
revoskid32
Senior Member
 
revoskid32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: wake forest, NC
Posts: 439
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

spektrum DX 2.0 or 3.0 if you like reverse
Old 03-23-2008, 04:42 PM
  #3  
cmerritt
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

i don't really want to spend that much. if you could find a dx3 for 200$ then i might consider it but $250 is a bit much. why would i get a dx3 if i like reverse??? the other radios mentioned have 3 channels.
Old 03-23-2008, 05:49 PM
  #4  
Hugh Betcha
Junior Member
 
Hugh Betcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Da Island, BC, CANADA
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

The Barn Floor has the Spektrum DX3.0 at $199.99 after you put it in your shopping cart.
Old 03-23-2008, 06:19 PM
  #5  
cmerritt
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

so is the dx3 the best radio for my needs??

does anyone own one of the futaba radios above???
Old 03-24-2008, 12:48 AM
  #6  
Dokioto
 
Dokioto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 4,515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

JR XS3 or JR XS3 Pro at A main Hobbies (on sale great prise!!)..
Old 03-24-2008, 09:42 AM
  #7  
cmerritt
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio


ORIGINAL: Dokioto

JR XS3 or JR XS3 Pro at A main Hobbies (on sale great prise!!)..
why do you like it so much??? im trying to get personal feedback from owners so i can understand why it is a good buy.



thanks
Old 03-24-2008, 11:05 AM
  #8  
Dokioto
 
Dokioto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 4,515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

ORIGINAL: cmerritt


ORIGINAL: Dokioto

JR XS3 or JR XS3 Pro at A main Hobbies (on sale great prise!!)..
why do you like it so much??? im trying to get personal feedback from owners so i can understand why it is a good buy.



thanks
It has all the features I need(and many more)..
Mine hasn't even came in the mail yet (should get here this week), but I talked to a few people and no one has any problems with it.
It's about a $240 radio and on sale for $99.99[X(]

You said your a basher and don't have to worry about interference, so I would say this is way more than you really need (thats always nice).. Would be a great radio to race with and interference shouldn't be a problem.


Side note: The Pro isn't really necessary. It only looks different and has a little more model memory, not very different from the "slandered".


If you still don't know if its a good buy (I understand as mine hasn't came yet) just look at all the reviews people have given it here at RCU (user Review section)..
Old 03-24-2008, 11:22 AM
  #9  
cmerritt
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

thanks for your input. im still torn between the xs3 the the futaba 3pm fs-pro. does anyone have the futaba??
Old 03-24-2008, 11:27 AM
  #10  
Dokioto
 
Dokioto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 4,515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

You can't really go wrong with either..
They are both FM
They are synthesized
XS3 is way cheaper

I think the Futaba can be upgraded to 2.4 Ghz though (might be a pluse). But for what your doing you might not need it all that bad.
Just flip a coin..
Old 03-24-2008, 11:31 AM
  #11  
cmerritt
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

ya i think im gonna go with the xs3. when are you getting yours? tell me what you think of it when you get it.


thanks
Old 03-24-2008, 11:34 AM
  #12  
Dokioto
 
Dokioto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 4,515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

Mine should get here this week... I used A main Hobbies free shipping thing and it isn't very fast at all (they sometimes ship it priority, but not this time).
Old 03-25-2008, 09:14 PM
  #13  
cmerritt
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

ok i went ahead and bought the xs3! it gets here nxt week!
Old 03-25-2008, 09:17 PM
  #14  
Dokioto
 
Dokioto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 4,515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

Nice, mine should be here this week (if not Monday[:'(])
Old 03-25-2008, 09:52 PM
  #15  
chrobar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Darien, IL
Posts: 909
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

I guess I'm too late, but I have the 2.4ghz version of the 3PM and I love it. It has plenty of features and a built in failsafe, and a lot of other beneficial items.
Old 03-26-2008, 08:28 PM
  #16  
cmerritt
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio


ORIGINAL: chrobar

I guess I'm too late, but I have the 2.4ghz version of the 3PM and I love it. It has plenty of features and a built in failsafe, and a lot of other beneficial items.
ya i thought about that radio first. i already have a fail safe and for my driving conditions 2.4ghz isn't necessary. plus the xs3 is ALOT cheaper

thanks for your input though
Old 03-27-2008, 11:10 PM
  #17  
Dokioto
 
Dokioto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 4,515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

Got my Radio yesterday and have it installed in my 1/8 buggy I love it! You won't be disappointed.. I didn't even look at the servos it came with when I bought it, but it does come with a nice High Torque, Metal Geared servo (for steering)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk25937.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	32.3 KB
ID:	915450   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oj27411.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	68.7 KB
ID:	915451  
Old 03-28-2008, 12:11 PM
  #18  
cmerritt
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

mine comes tues. i can't wait
Old 04-02-2008, 08:31 PM
  #19  
cmerritt
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: time for a new radio

okay i got my radio. i have a problem now. i got it set up, plugged in the servos, receiver battery, etc. i setup my radio correctly (i think) and now it won't work. i turn it on and nothing happens at all. i can't control anything on my truck. does anyone know what's wrong. it's probably something obvious but i have never had a comp. radio before



thanks
Old 04-03-2008, 09:27 AM
  #20  
cmerritt
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: i got my new radio...and now i have a problem

anyone??
Old 04-03-2008, 10:58 AM
  #21  
Dokioto
 
Dokioto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 4,515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: i got my new radio...and now i have a problem

You shouldn't set it up until it on (mess with the functions)[&:] How would you know what your doing lol.

The Radio is on? The reviver pack is plug in and connected? Are you getting a buzz from the servos?
Old 04-03-2008, 11:00 AM
  #22  
Dokioto
 
Dokioto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 4,515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: i got my new radio...and now i have a problem

Make sure your Transmitter is on the same channel as the Receiver as well..
Old 04-03-2008, 01:27 PM
  #23  
cmerritt
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1,951
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: i got my new radio...and now i have a problem

ya it was on and the servos buzz sometimes. they are both on the same channel too.
Old 04-03-2008, 11:30 PM
  #24  
Dokioto
 
Dokioto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 4,515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: i got my new radio...and now i have a problem

How many volts does it say it's getting? The only other thing I can think of is dead receiver batts (or there not all the way in).

With out being there and looking over your system it is a little harder to find the problem.
I would also check to make sure all the plugs are connected (if the servos buzz this shouldn't be the proublem).


I am 95% sure that it is a minor problem and will be easily fixed. I have been running mine no stop without any proublems!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.