Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

ace 1015 battery?

Old 05-07-2008, 03:14 PM
  #1  
tmaxx 3.3
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ace 1015 battery?

I have a losi 8ight T I just upgraded one of my servos to a Ace 1015 will I need to run another battery pack instead of the factory pack with the 1015 are will the factory battery pack be sufficient enough?
Old 05-07-2008, 03:27 PM
  #2  
UG0TB4NN3D
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jonesborough, TN
Posts: 1,343
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ace 1015 battery?

What is the factory pack? The Stickman 2500 mAH pack, or the Ballistic Batteries 2700 mAH pack should rage that DS1015.
Old 05-07-2008, 09:37 PM
  #3  
u1arunit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Aliquippa, PA
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ace 1015 battery?

The factory pack is only 1100mah. I use a Ballistic 2700 mah pack and it's plenty for LONG run times.
Old 05-07-2008, 09:55 PM
  #4  
RevToTheRedline
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
RevToTheRedline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Rainsville, AL
Posts: 1,046
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ace 1015 battery?

I use a 1500mah 2S lipo with 6.2v regulator with my Ace servos, I've not run it with that setup yet, but 1400mah NiMH hump pack was juust making it, I could finish a 1 hour main but barely, 1500mah 2S lipo regulated is about like a 1800 capacity nimh so i should be good to go.
Old 05-08-2008, 04:42 AM
  #5  
snowbl!nd
Senior Member
 
snowbl!nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Manchester, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,779
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: ace 1015 battery?

Even a 1100mAh NI-MH pack would do, just re-peak in between heats (if racing). It's when you start running two powerful servos that you really need to worry about draining the batteries.
Old 05-08-2008, 04:43 AM
  #6  
Foxy
Senior Member
 
Foxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kingston UK, but living in Athens, GREECE
Posts: 18,082
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: ace 1015 battery?

I was getting about 2 hours out of a 1400 Orion Marathon, on an Xray 1/8th buggy with an ACE DS1015 on steering, and a Futaba S9451 on brake.

The important thing with servos and battery life, is not to put an insane servo on both throttle and brake. Put the best you can on steering (DS1015) and use something light and fast for throttle/brake. The S9451 only pulls about 100oz-in, but it was more than enough to lock up all 4 wheels, and pulls a hell of a lot less current than some of the stronger servos. If you have a DS1015 on steering and a DS1313 on throttle for example, you will eat batteries. These are both juicy servos.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.