Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

antenna lenght spectrum

Old 05-18-2008, 10:01 PM
  #1  
ozzie-crawl
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: gold coast, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 835
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default antenna lenght spectrum

i know u can half the length of the antenna but can u double it
Old 05-18-2008, 10:38 PM
  #2  
systemlord
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: antenna lenght spectrum

You can't do either because the length of the antenna is linked to the frequency that the transmitter puts out. There already a thread that covers this in detail.
Old 05-18-2008, 10:50 PM
  #3  
ozzie-crawl
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: gold coast, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 835
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: antenna lenght spectrum

in the spectrum hand book it says u can halve the lenght
Old 05-18-2008, 11:01 PM
  #4  
systemlord
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: antenna lenght spectrum

Does it say that you'll half the range of your radio? I can't believe a radio manufacturer would suggest this!
Old 05-19-2008, 05:52 AM
  #5  
ozzie-crawl
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: gold coast, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 835
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: antenna lenght spectrum

no it only says u will loose a very small if any distance [sm=confused.gif]
Old 05-19-2008, 06:11 AM
  #6  
nomobux
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
nomobux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ellensburg, WA
Posts: 1,598
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: antenna lenght spectrum


ORIGINAL: systemlord

You can't do either because the length of the antenna is linked to the frequency that the transmitter puts out. There already a thread that covers this in detail.
You'd do well to know what you're talking about before posting and giving wrong info. The 3000 rx ( per the man and Spek tech) can be left stock or cut to 3.5 " from where it leaves the case. The new DX3R CANNOT be cut. Ck your manual or call tech for the others.
Old 05-31-2008, 11:05 AM
  #7  
dacaur
 
dacaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: midvale, UT
Posts: 2,658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: antenna lenght spectrum

Well to be fair, there is no clear indication that hes talking about a speKtrum radio, because he spelled it wrong.... When I first read the title of the thread, I thought he was talking about a 75Mhz antenna too...
Old 06-03-2008, 11:28 AM
  #8  
Mr Mirage
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: , MI
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: antenna lenght spectrum

All RC receivers are internally tuned for the exact antenna length included. If you ever had a CB and had to "match" the antenna with an SWR box, this is the same exact principle.

The higher the frequency, the more sensitive the system will be to changes in the length of the antenna. Accidentially grinding the top inch or two off a 27mhz or 75mhz antenna is not likely to noticeably change range, however to a 2.4GHz system it would result in a severe performance loss.

In addition to reduced range, the Spektrum receivers are actually "transceivers" (they transmit telemetry data back to the transmitter), and transmitting through an out of tune antenna can easily damage or destroy the TX module.

If you cut them to 3.6", the antenna should still be in tune, however you must be *very* exact making this cut! Unless you have a need for it, or have a little RF theory under your belt, your best bet is to just leave it alone. You'd be better off moving the receiver away from the antenna tube and allowing the extra wire to run horizontally across the chassis. Any range you lose can be returned by simply putting the receiver back where it was. This is way easier than having to resolder a brand new antenna to that tiny solder land on the receiver unit.

Adding more antenna will not improve range in the least bit. If you're having range problems with the stock antenna, something else is wrong with the system and you should contact Horizon.

$0.02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.