Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

SPEKTRUM DX3S

Old 09-15-2009, 10:43 PM
  #1  
basketballfan60123
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 568
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SPEKTRUM DX3S

I have the SPEKTRUM DX3S and was wondering how many people have had issues with the telemetry set-up on a rc car and how reliable it is ?
Has anybody had issues with getting it to function properly ?
Old 09-16-2009, 09:02 AM
  #2  
Chris_RC
Senior Member
 
Chris_RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern California, CA
Posts: 6,912
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S

Temp works fine, never tried the rpm and never will.
Old 09-16-2009, 10:56 AM
  #3  
BigTb17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 1,167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S

For the most part it works great. The only problem I've has is one of my temp sensors went bad. It totally stopped reading one day. The other temp sensor still works fine, there is nothing wrong with the radio or the telemetry connection, it's just the sensor.
Old 09-16-2009, 05:42 PM
  #4  
basketballfan60123
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 568
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S

How about the RPM sensor.
My LHS is having a [email protected]#$ of a hard time trying to get it to work on my Savage and have already replaced the RPM sensor twice.
Old 09-16-2009, 09:11 PM
  #5  
Chris_RC
Senior Member
 
Chris_RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern California, CA
Posts: 6,912
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S


ORIGINAL: basketballfan60123

How about the RPM sensor.
My LHS is having a [email protected]#$ of a hard time trying to get it to work on my Savage and have already replaced the RPM sensor twice.
Remember, it is telemetry so everything wont work 100% as Spektrum is the first mfg to incoorperate this. That being said, what does the RPM sensor do? Who cares about your top speed anyway?
Old 09-16-2009, 09:30 PM
  #6  
etivac13
Senior Member
 
etivac13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: cavite, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 196
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S

it also has a limited range..... 100 to 200ft...
Old 10-04-2009, 09:06 PM
  #7  
mowery1
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 421
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S

Just intalled my Spektrum Dx3S telemetry tonight and there has to be a better way to get those rpm decals to stick to the flywheel....Wondering if a guy could use chrome paint to make a dot on the back of the flywheel...I'm using associated flywheels which are dark in color......Saw a thred on another site where a guy had a shiny flywheel and used black nailpolish to make his dot on the flywheel...makes sense...Those decals would never stay on after a few runs....Any tips on this would be helpful..Thanks...
Old 10-04-2009, 09:47 PM
  #8  
basketballfan60123
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 568
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S

The manual says you are supposed apply superglue around the edges (not on top of the sticker) of the sticker to secure it to the flywheel but even then it will still fall off; at least that is what my LHS has told me.
Old 11-22-2009, 06:21 PM
  #9  
bigblock454XXL
Senior Member
My Feedback: (-1)
 
bigblock454XXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kane, PA
Posts: 743
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S


ORIGINAL: Chris_RC


ORIGINAL: basketballfan60123

How about the RPM sensor.
My LHS is having a [email protected]#$ of a hard time trying to get it to work on my Savage and have already replaced the RPM sensor twice.
Who cares about your top speed anyway?
I Do! I don't have to second guess how fast I'm going when I run against an aftershock and a Tmaxx. There's no lying about how fast I'm going. As long as I adjust the Roll-out setting properly, I'm good to go. I bought the Losi XXL and got the DX3S and I've had no problems at all with any of the telemetry features. As far as distance I've had mine work up to 600 FT. I just had it out today and had MPH readings everytime I looked at the screen. And I was running the distance of a city block. From standing at one end I had MPH reading all the way to the other end and back. Perhaps it was because my batteries were fully charged.
I also run my Hyperdrive PRO2 on an indoor track without telemetry and it runs awesome. Don't need the telemetry on my pan car. Good luck to ya'all
Old 11-26-2009, 01:36 AM
  #10  
lomdel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: BloemfonteinFree State, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S

Anyone calculated the correct Roll-out for the Losi 8ight T 2.0 truggy to adjust the value on the DX3S? Default is set at 4,1", but is this true?...
Old 12-02-2009, 05:12 AM
  #11  
etivac13
Senior Member
 
etivac13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: cavite, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 196
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S

what's the length of your rx antennas? i just got my dx3s last sunday and was comparing it with the futaba r603fs (now sold).. and its shorter..by about 2 or 3 inches...
Old 12-02-2009, 01:23 PM
  #12  
conradj87
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 170
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S

I've had problems with the RPM sensor as well, but everything else works fine. The range seems a little iffy, sometimes I can read it the whole time, most of the time it flickers on me. My temp reading on the controller is about 20 degrees over what a handheld temp gun says when the truck is hot, when at room temp they read the same. I trust the temp gun more, anybody else noticed this?.

I think my antenna was only a few inches long 3 or 4 maybe?
I'm gonna try the black nail polish trick.
Old 12-07-2009, 01:27 PM
  #13  
bigblock454XXL
Senior Member
My Feedback: (-1)
 
bigblock454XXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kane, PA
Posts: 743
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S

I never monitored temps until I got the DX3S. I had 3 Tmaxx's Broke in two engines and never checked temps. So as far as comparing, I have nothing to compare it to. 20 Degree difference is pretty close to me.
Old 12-14-2009, 01:21 AM
  #14  
dacaur
 
dacaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: midvale, UT
Posts: 2,658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S

I would personally NOT try to put the sticker on the flywheel. That's the fastest moving part of the whole system!! It would be MUCH better to put it on a driveshaft between the transmission and diffs. Its moving so much slower, that getting it to stay on will be like child's play compared to the flywheel. Plus, on a 2 speed setup, thats the ONLY way to get reliable speed readings at both low and high speeds.
Old 12-18-2009, 09:03 PM
  #15  
bigblock454XXL
Senior Member
My Feedback: (-1)
 
bigblock454XXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kane, PA
Posts: 743
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S

If your looking for RPM's, putting it on the driveshaft won't work. When you stop, the driveshafts stop and that's not going to give you RPM. You need to find a way to adhere it to the flywheel. Clean it with alcohol. There is a way to make it work, just gotta find the right person to do it. Or the right method.
Old 12-18-2009, 10:58 PM
  #16  
dacaur
 
dacaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: midvale, UT
Posts: 2,658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM DX3S

Thats true by why would you care about RPM's? MPH is what matters

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.