Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Classic Cars & Trucks
Reload this Page >

My first real hobby grade RC.....need parts

Community
Search
Notices
RC Classic Cars & Trucks Have a classic that is at least 15 years or older? Discuss it here!

My first real hobby grade RC.....need parts

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2014, 05:06 PM
gagallagher04401
My Feedback: (20)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My first real hobby grade RC.....need parts

My father went into a local general store 1998 in our little Maine town, I was in 8th grade. He came out with a free flyer that had RC vehicles in it. I started looking through it. I was hooked! I got a subscription to RC car action. I read, and read, the magazines were falling apart I read them so many times. I asked for a nitro RC truck for Christmas that year. That Christmas eve night my grandfather had a massive stroke on the side of the highway and pasted away on Christmas eve. Needless to say Christmas was not the happiest. I did however receive a brand new in the box a Duratrax Maximum ST RTR. Back then was like 300.00. I LOVED this truck, modified it, hopped it up, better motor, shocks, custom chassis etc.. made a entry level 1/10th scale truck into a pretty impressive little truck.

Lets fast forward..... I went away to college, moved away for work afterwards, the truck sat in my old closet at my folks for years.
I am now 31, have my own home, etc...I now have many gasoline giant scale, nitro, and brushless planes, I have a HPI Baja 5B SS, and bought one for my father as well.

BUT I still have my maximum ST. In great condition, looks good, runs good, just has a lot of sentimental meaning to me. It is amazing how far RC has come over the years. That That all being said I still run my Maximum ST it here and there, but parts are really no where to be found, some here and there, EBAY, RCU, RC groups, etc...