RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Drifting (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-drifting-304/)
-   -   Decision Time. (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-drifting-304/11281574-decision-time.html)

dowsolo 10-30-2012 05:26 PM

Decision Time.

After getting my Rustler VXL I realized i had the most fun with it when I was able to use it to drift on wet grass/pavement. So ive decided to get into drifting now.

Im looking at getting a Drifter but cant decide on what to get, and I was hoping to get some help from some knowledgable people already involved in drifting.

Ive read most if not all of the recent posts similar to this one and because i am new to the RC Drifting scene i know there's a crap ton of stuff i dont know or have overlooked, and want to make sure i cover all of my bases. Ive been looking at the TT01, Hpi Sprint 2 Drift and the TC4 but i know theres many other options hopefully which fall into the guidelines ive tried to outline below. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Things im looking for and limitations:

* 99% of the driving will take place outdoors, i would prefer a shaft driven car because of this, or if my best option is still belt drive a system known for being reliable with outdoor use. ( I dont want to be constantly having to clean it or replacing belts.)

* Im not looking to compete with it, but would like it to perform nicely. Future upgrades will definatly be purchased, so thats another thing to consider.

* RTR or Kit, i'm mechanically capable and wouldnt mind building my own, however if the options are better as a RTR i will settle with that.

* Has to be Electric, but im not able to use LiPo. Would like to use LiFe if decent ones are available with a reasonable price.(I havent done much research into LiFe other than the basics, would love some advice on which to get, and if their worth getting for a drift application) NiMh will be used otherwise.