Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Tamiya Kits

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2012, 01:08 PM
iXMufasaXi

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tamiya Kits

Hi! I'm new to the r/c car hobby and I was thinking about getting a tamiya kit. I am looking at the cheaper kits right now because I just got an expensive plane then spent a lot on repairs after a bad crash. I am looking at the following but I need help choosing which one to get:

Rising Fighter
Grasshopper
Hornet
Fighter Buggy

I have read a lot about these and every time I find a forum where someone is asking which one they should get I discover a new one. It actually all started with the grasshopper and then I heard about the hornet, then I saw that the rising fighter was cheaper than both of them then I saw how sweet the fighter buggy looked and it is about the same price as the hornet. I want it to be fast but I also want it to be one that can eventually be upgraded and I have heard that the grasshopper has a bad gear box. These are the only ones I could find so if somebody could help me choose the best one and possibly help me find the rest of the parts so that it is no more than $180 then that would be awesome.

If anybody could find an on-road kit that would total less than $180 and also fast then please share
Old 10-04-2012, 01:33 PM
Eman77

Default RE: Tamiya Kits

Sounds like you're leaning towards a 1/10 2WD buggy, which is fine. How about something from the DT-02 chassis? It's a bit more modern than the ones you listed. Nothing wrong with them, but a few on your list are re-releases of older models, just for fun.

Sand Viper is a good example. Or for 4WD, something like a Gravel Hound (DF02 chassis)?

A bit newer than the DT-02 platform is the DN01 (like the Zahak), but it's more expensive.

Lots of choices!