Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Tamiya Wild One Build/Review

Old 12-09-2012, 10:29 PM
K5YAC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tamiya Wild One Build/Review

It has been a long time since I've built an RC car of any sort, so I figured I'd take a few minutes to document this build. Perhaps someone might glean some useful information from this text.

A quick background... I started playing around with remote control cars in the early 80s. You know, the Radio Shack types that ate batteries and required a clean flat parking lot in order to drive. I had a pretty cool Audi that had proportional speed and steering, but it could be high centered on a pebble! Moving on to 1985, my brother bought a Tamiya Fox... what a great car... a HUGE improvement over anything I had ever seen. A friend of ours had a Tamiya Frog... another great car for those days. Well, my younger brother and I had to have one... he chose the Tamiya Hornet while I had my heart set on the Tamiya Wild One (mod. # 58050) and a Magnum Junior radio... I think we ordered both from Sheldon's Hobbies in California. This thing was a beast… I'll just summarize by saying that I drove it for over a year, but I had a bit of trouble with the hex drive axles and the old mechanical style speed control. It met its demise one day when my speed control stuck in the on position and proceeded to melt things down (literally) before I could get to it and get the covers of or disconnect the battery. I had a lot of fun with it, but after many months of abuse it was beyond reasonable repair in my eyes... besides, I had my sights set on a Kyosho Ultima that I eventually bought in late 86. This was a whole new machine, and it was, as we would say back then, RAD! Moving on, my brothers and I got in to RC aircraft and for the next 25 years we had very limited exposure t