Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Advice for first RC car

Old 03-24-2016, 12:52 PM
jack880

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice for first RC car

Hi.

I am completely new to this. I'm after some advice please.

I want to get an RC dirt buggy but don't know where to start.

I don't want to get into RC as a serious hobby, I just want something I can drive around for fun. My priority is durability - I don't want to spend more time than I have to fixing it. I don't need the best performance or handling.

Pretty sure I want electric as I don't want the hassle of messing about with petrol. I've got a young child and want something I can easily chuck in a rucksack and take to the park with her.

I was in the park a few days ago and saw someone driving a Himoto 1:18 scale buggy with a brushless motor (I don't know what the advantages/dsadvantages are with brushed/brushless). It looked like the sort of thing that would be perfect for what I want, but since then I've seen a bad review of Himoto on Youtube. He said it cost about 120 ready to go (about $170).

Then I watched a video on Youtube of a Redcat Twister which looked really good.

Other than the Himoto I saw in the park and the videos I watched in Youtube, I have no idea about what car to go for.

Any advice would be much appreciated. I don't want to spend more than about 140 ($200) ideally.

Many thanks
Old 03-24-2016, 06:18 PM
67Stingrayj

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

stay away from Redcat. When I first got into this in January, I too wanted a buggy. There are some really nice 4wd ones that come with LEDs for night time drives. It not costly and would be perfect for you. Check out the ECX Roost.
Old 03-24-2016, 06:39 PM
shadowsndust

Stay away from redcat! Lol just spend the chedder and go traxxas, stampede 2wd sounds right up your alley