Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Older Hobbywing 35A brushed ESC

Old 02-02-2020, 04:00 PM
  #1  
oldblue
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Older Hobbywing 35A brushed ESC

So I got the program card BUT no place to plug it in my ESC the on/off switch and servo switch (?) are in the same (only ) plug- is this EC too old? The manual says it can use a card- any ideas - now I did try to plug it in but it did NOT fit except in the middle of the plug fan on the esc came on but the card did not- it's a fresh battery BTW


Old 02-05-2020, 05:20 PM
  #2  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,576
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Unplug the speed control from the receiver, and plug it into the LED programming card.
Old 02-05-2020, 07:28 PM
  #3  
oldblue
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

yeah, problem is the wire from the card will NOT fit on the ESC it pushes on the on/off pins and will NOT let it set right- I contacted hobby wing and they are baffled said maybe the esc plug got wrapped somehow (power surge?)- I mean they look OK to my untrained eye-maybe time for a new ESC?

Old 02-06-2020, 11:56 AM
  #4  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,576
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

If that is the plug you use to power your receiver, then I got no answer. Never seen an ESC with that plug. Every speed control should have a negative, positive, and a signal wire That plugs into Channel 2. Of the receiver

what receiver do you have?
Old 02-06-2020, 04:18 PM
  #5  
oldblue
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

A specktrum receiver from a DX3R - so you are saying plug the card into the receiver? at the BIND socket? or the AUX socket?
Old 02-06-2020, 04:34 PM
  #6  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,576
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

The ESC's plug that you have in your Spektrum's throttle (ch. 2) port, unplug it from the receiver, and plug it into the programming card.
Old 02-06-2020, 04:59 PM
  #7  
oldblue
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I re read Rusy's post and the light came on- the wire FROM the ESC to the program card- DUH- sorry senior miment-it's working like a champ now- thanks for the help fellas- Vic in So Cal

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.