Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

IMEX Firefox Monster Truck

Old 11-25-2020, 08:58 AM
  #1  
jimwelsh
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default IMEX Firefox Monster Truck

Hello. I recently came across a IMEX Firefox RC truck. It is the 1/10 4WD Firefox Monster Truck, model IMX18000? It is pretty much complete with the exception of the remote control. I have been looking for a replacement remote control but have not had much luck. Apparently this is an older truck as information of it is limited. Is the remote control system on this monster truck proprietary or can a generic 2.4ghz remote control work? And if a generic remote control can work, how do you bind it to make it work? Or if that is not possible how difficult would it be to swap out the ESC to make it compatible with a generic remote control?
Thank you in advance for any information.
Jim W.



Old 11-25-2020, 11:45 AM
  #2  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 4,784
Received 30 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

The receiver in your truck doesn't look familiar to me, and not to mention it's (what looks like to me) a ESC/receiver 2-in-1 unit. I'd have to assume it's proprietary to Imex.
If I was trying to stay low budget, I'd be looking into something like the following two items.
Transmitter and receiver: https://www.banggood.com/DumboRC-X5-...r_warehouse=CN
Brushed motor speed control: https://www.banggood.com/HSP-HPI-320...r_warehouse=CN
Old 11-25-2020, 11:59 AM
  #3  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 4,784
Received 30 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Is there any instructions that came with your RC stating a binding process for your transmitter/receiver?
Old 11-25-2020, 01:28 PM
  #4  
jimwelsh
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RustyUs View Post
Is there any instructions that came with your RC stating a binding process for your transmitter/receiver?
Unfortunately no. And very little info on the web about it.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.