Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

superbrain 969 help?

Old 10-13-2005, 06:52 PM
  #1  
ProfitOfDoom
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: eastlake, OH
Posts: 652
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default superbrain 969 help?

I got this charger and it says its ac/dc,,but it didnt coem with any plug to hook up to the car battery.
But in the side where it plugs up to the power supply,it came with an extra adapter that plugs into the charger it self,with a Tamiya type connector,So I cut wires from another charger,and just install a tamiya connector will this work,,or will this casue problems to power sources?
Old 10-13-2005, 07:14 PM
  #2  
Doahh
Senior Member
 
Doahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Loomis, CA
Posts: 4,290
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: superbrain 969 help?

Did you buy it new or used?
Old 10-13-2005, 10:09 PM
  #3  
homeless1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: , PA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: superbrain 969 help?

It says ac/dc but it is really a dc charger that comes with an external ac/dc converter (dc power supply)
Old 10-13-2005, 11:57 PM
  #4  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: superbrain 969 help?

when they are new, they are supposed to come with a green plug adapter to DC clampd to hook to a car battery.
Old 10-14-2005, 09:22 AM
  #5  
Doahh
Senior Member
 
Doahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Loomis, CA
Posts: 4,290
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: superbrain 969 help?

Mine came with the green plugged aligator clips
Old 10-14-2005, 01:04 PM
  #6  
Mike Ledbetter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Carpinteria, CA
Posts: 634
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: superbrain 969 help?

It sounds like someone used the green connector from the battery clamps to make the tamya "adaptor."

Remover the connector. Get a light set of battery clamp wires rated at 30 amps or so, tin the ends of the wires with solder and put the green connector on the end, OBSERVING POLARITY CAREFULLY.
Old 10-15-2005, 07:17 PM
  #7  
ProfitOfDoom
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: eastlake, OH
Posts: 652
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: superbrain 969 help?

I got it used ,it came with an Emaxx auction I won. It comes with the ac power thing,and this other adapter cord.Its about 3" the one side plugs in where the ac power goes,and on the other side of it is a Tamiya style connector.
I have this old timed charger that I dont use anymore,and it has DC wires and clamps on it,I was gonna cut that off and put another tamiya connector that and hook it up to the 3" adapter,anyone see any problems?
Also someone said watch the polarity,How would I do this?
Old 10-16-2005, 12:07 PM
  #8  
losiracer753
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
losiracer753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: york, ME
Posts: 1,230
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: superbrain 969 help?

the best advice i can give you about the 969 is get a new charger like a DTX intelipeak ditch the superbrain.
Old 10-16-2005, 12:14 PM
  #9  
Doahh
Senior Member
 
Doahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Loomis, CA
Posts: 4,290
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: superbrain 969 help?

ORIGINAL: losiracer753

the best advice i can give you about the 969 is get a new charger like a DTX intelipeak ditch the superbrain.
Have you owned the nine SIX nine and not just the nine FIVE nine?
Very different charger
Old 10-16-2005, 12:19 PM
  #10  
losiracer753
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
losiracer753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: york, ME
Posts: 1,230
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: superbrain 969 help?

is that the black one or purple one my friend fried a pack with it and so have i the "pro level superbrain" fried a brand new sp2 orion 3300 1.19 team pack.
Old 10-16-2005, 04:38 PM
  #11  
Doahh
Senior Member
 
Doahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Loomis, CA
Posts: 4,290
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: superbrain 969 help?

the black one
How could you fry a Pack on the charger unless you didn't have it set right.
Since you didn't have it set right it's your OWN FAULT you fried the pack

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.