Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Best Starter Elec RC Truck for the $ ?

Old 07-20-2008, 08:09 AM
SmattaHead

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best Starter Elec RC Truck for the $ ?

I'm new to elec RC trucks.
I am interested in getting a nice RTR starter all-around truck, best for the money?
I would like to be able to go Lipo from the start, and prefer maintenance free
brushless, if possible. I will probably use on beach and dirt.

I like the look of the Losi Desert Truck 1/10 RTR.

What are the best competitors?

All recommendations appreciated!

Thanks
Old 07-20-2008, 08:42 AM
04DarkShadowGT

Default RE: Best Starter Elec RC Truck for the $ ?

Here are your major options. There are others some may post up. But these are all 2wd stadium truck style RTR electrics.

Your only brushless options are the firstorm flux, VXL cars, and the Speed T. The Flux cannot take 3S lipo where the VXL and Speed T can. The bandit is your cheapest brushless option. You can use lipo on pretty much any of them but you will need a low voltage cutoff purchased seperatly for all cars except the Flux, Speed T, and VXL cars as those have them built in.

$100 - $175
1 - Duratrax Evader EXT - $99 http://www.ultimatehobbies.com/istar.asp?a=6&id=DTXD29!1001
2 - Traxxas Rustler XL-5 - $150 http://www.ultimatehobbies.com/istar.asp?a=6&id=TRA3705!1008
3 - Traxxas Stampede XL-5 - $139 http://www.ultimatehobbies.com/istar.asp?a=6&id=TRA3605!1008

$175 - $250
1 - Traxxas Slash - $199 - http://www.impaktrc.com/product_info...oducts_id=2668
2 - Traxxas Bandit VXL - $225 - http://www.ultimatehobbies.com/istar.asp?a=6&id=TRA2408!1008
3 - HPI Firestorm - $179 w/coupon - http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXTDU6&P=ML
4 - Losi Desert Truck - $209 - http://www.ultimatehobbies.com/istar.asp?a=6&id=LOSB0102!1002