Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

What to buy for Slash?

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2008, 05:40 PM
HPIownage

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What to buy for Slash?

Alright so i'm kinda on a budget, but i really want a brushless/lipo slash. I want to go as fast i can go without spending too much money and causing too much heat to the motor/esc and stress on the driveline aswell. pretty much i want a pretty fast slash, that i wont have to be replacing spur gears every day let alone other parts. I will be running this on my street, and at a local park which has a baseball field and lots of open grass. I watch videos of mambas and 3s lipo setups and thats something i want, but will that setup last? as far as the esc and motor being able to handle that? im totally new to 1/10 scale brushless, but im very familiar with 1/18 brushless. i'd really like to get this project started up soon, so any help advice or input from any of you would be great! and like i said i dont have lots of money, so i probably wont be getting all this at once. Thanks in advance!

So far im looking at:
Traxxas Slash RTR
Mamba 5700 system
3s Lipo
Lipo Charger
Balancer
LVC
steel idler gear
Old 10-15-2008, 06:06 PM
Frozen72

Default RE: What to buy for Slash?

The slash already has a Steel Idler so you don't have to buy a new one. I would make sure that you have plenty of spur gears though.
Old 10-15-2008, 06:15 PM
Always Dreamin

everything looks good. all except the MM and 3s. it will burn up. you might want to look at either a Mamba esc with VXL motor, or VXL system. the vxl system will not have the features the Mamba will, but it will run cooler overall, and produce loads of power.
Old 10-15-2008, 06:47 PM
HPIownage

Alright so i'll get the vileneon, will it run as fast as the mamba?