Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Is the V3 out yet?

Old 10-22-2008, 10:12 AM
  #1  
Snaut Rocket
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Snaut Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Merced, CA
Posts: 3,304
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is the V3 out yet?

Is out yet or anybody know when it will be out.
Kind of wanting one for a buggy im doing.
Any info will be great.
Old 10-22-2008, 10:27 AM
  #2  
The Hedgehog
 
The Hedgehog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , CT
Posts: 9,999
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

It should be avaliable by the end of November.
Old 10-22-2008, 10:55 AM
  #3  
Eman77
Senior Member
 
Eman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Batavia, IL
Posts: 10,314
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

Academy V3? 2WD buggy, or...?
Old 10-22-2008, 04:16 PM
  #4  
Chris_RC
Senior Member
 
Chris_RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern California, CA
Posts: 6,912
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

Taking a long shot but Virtual RC? They have V3 now and V4 coming later. I know this isnt it though.
Old 10-22-2008, 04:17 PM
  #5  
Lilredmachine
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Shanklin, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,929
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

An MMM V3? For a Buggy?
Old 10-22-2008, 05:19 PM
  #6  
Evader ---> MGT
Senior Member
 
Evader ---> MGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

Mamba Monster Max ESC guys...

I emailed CC, and they said to run with the V2 with their new software as it will solve 90% of the problems people are having, and if you have a problems later, send it in THEN to get it fixed. Or you can wait a few weeks to just buy the V3.

I'd rather do what I did. Buy the V2, reprogram (5mins max), DRIVE!!!! You'll get like 2 extra weeks of driving, may not have any problems (it's a buggy, not a 14lb MT), and you'll probably save a ton of cash. I got mine for $148 shipped, but for the V3 it'll probably be $169.99 (coupons?) plus shipping.

Just my $.02.
Old 10-22-2008, 05:40 PM
  #7  
Kevin_N
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Auburn, CA
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

My V3 shipped today. This was a replacement for a failed V2. I imagine retail V3's should be a matter of weeks.
Old 10-22-2008, 08:44 PM
  #8  
Always Dreamin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 7,131
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

Castle is probably in high demand right now for the V3's. With the new E-revo coming out, and I'm sure there is a long list for people wanting one. Probably a couple of weeks to maybe a month. Just don't get your hopes up and you wont be disappointed.
Old 10-22-2008, 09:25 PM
  #9  
fusebmx13
Senior Member
 
fusebmx13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: florissant, MO
Posts: 3,715
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

The problem with the V2 ones is not even electronic related. It is due to a part of the case pocking the circuit board, it was never electronic related. Upgrading the software is not going to help.
Old 10-23-2008, 06:09 AM
  #10  
SD2006
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Iowa City, IA
Posts: 415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?


ORIGINAL: fusebmx13

The problem with the V2 ones is not even electronic related. It is due to a part of the case pocking the circuit board, it was never electronic related. Upgrading the software is not going to help.
Is there a write-up somewhere that talks about this? I'd like to know the details. Thanks...
Old 10-23-2008, 06:35 AM
  #11  
Snipin_Willy
Senior Member
 
Snipin_Willy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Owasso, OK
Posts: 1,307
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

The V3's are in production and the new cases are being made as well: slightly taller for fan and PCB clearance. The circuit boards are also slightly different in the BEC area. The problems with the V2's are believed to have been caused by one or a combination of the fan plug on the bottom of the PCB rubbing against the case, the BEC circuit, and possibly the 6.5mm plug shorting against some of the close components. Updating the firmware is also suppose to fix the BEC problems with the V2.
Some people that have shipped multiple V2 to CC for replacement months ago are just starting to get their e-mail notification that CC is shipping them back. Notice, that CC isn't shipping them all of their replacements at once, more like just 1 at a time. I think this is due to the high demand and the line of people waiting for the new V3's

CC's firmware release notes
http://www.castlecreations.com/downloads/frh-mamba.html
Old 10-23-2008, 07:27 AM
  #12  
Access
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 4,900
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

ORIGINAL: Always Dreamin
Castle is probably in high demand right now for the V3's. With the new E-revo coming out, and I'm sure there is a long list for people wanting one. Probably a couple of weeks to maybe a month. Just don't get your hopes up and you wont be disappointed.
All I can say is, hopefully this will be commonly available (stores and online) by Xmas. And with the motor.
Old 10-23-2008, 08:33 AM
  #13  
Eman77
Senior Member
 
Eman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Batavia, IL
Posts: 10,314
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

Ah, so it's the MMM V3, got it.

One has to wonder how the heck Castle (or any company) could release a product that was so flawed. At least, flawed based on all I've read here. Did they never bother to slap it in a MT or Truggy and actually test it for a few battery packs in a real life scenario?
Old 10-23-2008, 08:53 AM
  #14  
The Hedgehog
 
The Hedgehog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , CT
Posts: 9,999
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

I am 100% sure they did bother to test it out. But regardless one with th emotor combo is going into my E-buggy for next year. The price is killer for what you get...
Old 10-23-2008, 09:01 AM
  #15  
Eman77
Senior Member
 
Eman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Batavia, IL
Posts: 10,314
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?


ORIGINAL: AutoXMan

I am 100% sure they did bother to test it out. But regardless one with th emotor combo is going into my E-buggy for next year. The price is killer for what you get...
I'm being negative of course...I'm sure they did test it. (And for the record to folks, I do own a MM 5700 and love it). But it just seems like the MMM was loooong awaited, delayed, finally came out, and seems to be pretty darn glitchy. And now there's a V3 already? Just seems like the whole thing was done wrong. Not sure exactly what was wrong, but my first guess was lack of thorough testing...

Old 10-23-2008, 10:43 AM
  #16  
Access
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 4,900
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

I love it how everyone is an expert in their own mind... seriously we don't know what went wrong or why things turned out the way they did. All we can do is hope this "V3" is 'it'.
Old 10-23-2008, 12:44 PM
  #17  
Eman77
Senior Member
 
Eman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Batavia, IL
Posts: 10,314
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

ORIGINAL: Access

I love it how everyone is an expert in their own mind... seriously we don't know what went wrong or why things turned out the way they did. All we can do is hope this "V3" is 'it'.
I'm not claiming to be an expert on this (if that is indeed your implication), but you can't deny that an outsider looking in, seeing version 3 of a product occurring what seems like very shortly after the product was first introduced seems to imply a premature release of V1.

It's not unprecendented in hardware, software, etc, but I can't help what I'm thinking on it.

I test software for a living - if you see us push out 3 versions of a code base in a short span of time (relative to other products we produce), it's pretty evident that something went wrong, be it buggy code, poor testing, or poor planning on the project in general. The principles still hold pretty true for the process behind hardware development and release.
Old 10-23-2008, 02:58 PM
  #18  
Access
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 4,900
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

My underlying point was just that we can pontificate or such all we want but in the end all you can do is wait, hope, try, etc. Everything has a story behind it but how can we know the true story here? A simple oversight? An incompetent engineer or tester? A product rushed out? Sabotage by a competitior? Just bad luck? The real story behind these failures rarely gets out, otherwise we only know what we're told and it's best to just deal with it and move on.

"poor planning on the project in general" yeah don't even get me started, everyone whose worked in the industry irl any length of time has a few horror stories.
Old 10-23-2008, 03:23 PM
  #19  
Eman77
Senior Member
 
Eman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Batavia, IL
Posts: 10,314
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?


ORIGINAL: Access

My underlying point was just that we can pontificate or such all we want but in the end all you can do is wait, hope, try, etc. Everything has a story behind it but how can we know the true story here? A simple oversight? An incompetent engineer or tester? A product rushed out? Sabotage by a competitior? Just bad luck? The real story behind these failures rarely gets out, otherwise we only know what we're told and it's best to just deal with it and move on.

"poor planning on the project in general" yeah don't even get me started, everyone whose worked in the industry irl any length of time has a few horror stories.
Understood, all we can do is speculate. But as a human being, I can't help but speculate.
Old 10-23-2008, 06:09 PM
  #20  
BigShrimpah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 293
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

I will be sending my V2 back tomorrow. It stopped working once I ran 5s through it in my 1/8th scale buggy. It stopped in a strange way though. The ESC still powers on, powers the servo, and allows me to reprogram it, but it will no longer power the motor.
Old 10-23-2008, 09:32 PM
  #21  
Snaut Rocket
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Snaut Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Merced, CA
Posts: 3,304
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

Well i hope they fixed it.
Cause for 60 dollars less i might as well get the mm with a bec.
Old 10-23-2008, 10:22 PM
  #22  
Evader ---> MGT
Senior Member
 
Evader ---> MGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?


ORIGINAL: fusebmx13

The problem with the V2 ones is not even electronic related. It is due to a part of the case pocking the circuit board, it was never electronic related. Upgrading the software is not going to help.
I understand the ESC case is flawed, but Castle Creations told me directly the software would fix many problems. The case is just a fix for a few of the plethora of problems.
Old 10-23-2008, 10:53 PM
  #23  
Snipin_Willy
Senior Member
 
Snipin_Willy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Owasso, OK
Posts: 1,307
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

These are some pics of the V2 and V3.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf99059.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	46.9 KB
ID:	1057737   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tp46121.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	1057738  
Old 10-23-2008, 11:20 PM
  #24  
SD2006
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Iowa City, IA
Posts: 415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?


ORIGINAL: Access

I love it how everyone is an expert in their own mind... seriously we don't know what went wrong or why things turned out the way they did. All we can do is hope this "V3" is 'it'.
Access - It seems to me you're bothered when people might know a little more about some of this than you do. Is it mostly because you think they're just speculative techno posers? If you don't mind me asking, what do you do in real life?
Old 10-24-2008, 12:06 AM
  #25  
Evader ---> MGT
Senior Member
 
Evader ---> MGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is the V3 out yet?

ORIGINAL: Snipin_Willy

These are some pics of the V2 and V3.
The pics won't load for me. Can you host them on Photobucket or something? I'm so curious to wee what they look like!

NVM, it worked... wierd...

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.