Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Gearing help

Old 03-05-2009, 06:50 PM
For_The_Win

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gearing help

Lol ok. So ive been doing this for almost 3 years and i still suck at it. So im getting this motor

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXTRX3&P=0

Im running a Team AE B4 and I WILL be racing. what is a good grearing right now i think its at 24-81 and thats with a 14x2 brushed motor
Old 03-05-2009, 06:51 PM
nitrozach54
Banned

Default RE: Gearing help

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_3255405/tm.htm
Old 03-05-2009, 07:06 PM
For_The_Win

No lie ive read that soo many times i dont get it.
Old 03-05-2009, 07:38 PM
Chris_RC

Neither do many people. I read that once, but go by my own rules of gearing. Couple questions.....

What brushless esc will you be using with the Eraser 13.5T? I would actually reccomend a Novak mtoor, as this is what most popel run. LRP speedo, novak motor.

Your going to be running in the super stock class because of the 13.5T motor right?

There is NO PERFECT gearing for ANYTHING. My suggestion is to buy ALL pinions from 20-32, and get a bunch of spur gears and see what you like best. You might like alot of accelration, might like more top speed. So just get a bunch of pinions and spurs and experiment!
Old 03-05-2009, 07:44 PM
For_The_Win

Im useing the Lrp Brushless A.I esc that matches it. Right now im running 24-81 i would like alitte bit more speed and ill be happy. But im worried about the motor heat than the esc i can touch the esc for a long time. but the motor for a good 5 sec befor it hurts.
Old 03-05-2009, 08:29 PM
aramid