Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

new rustler motor

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2009, 12:35 AM
klaben1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new rustler motor

hi i was wondering what type of motor would be a really nice bashing around setup in my new rustler im looking for power not top speed the titan 550 can motors suck so i ordered a new reedy stockstar 27t motor but i dont know if its what i need. i dont need a 550 right? i can use a nice 540? please help me out im not good with motor selection
Old 08-30-2009, 01:42 AM
CarGuy7a

Default RE: new rustler motor

A 27T IMO would be slower than the Titan.

In your case a good 17T 540 size motor would be the most practical choice. Just remember to properly breakin the motor so you'll get the longest possible life before you have to rebuild it. You can do this by setting your ESC which I am assuming is an XL-5, to training mode 50% throttle, hook your battery up and go full throttle for about 3 to 5 minutes, then continue normal use on the motor.

I've heard these are good motors.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXJAJ4&P=ML

Also remember the rule of thumb for the Rustler gearing a 540 size motor.

Gear 2 teeth lower on the pinion than the number of turns in a 540 motor.
Old 08-30-2009, 08:08 AM
TornadoGuy

The Orions are great. I was looking at them but the turns were too low, and my speed controller couldn't handle it. (TEU-101BK in Hornet). Obviously yours could.

So the best Motor I could find was this right here -

[link=http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXLXT7&P=0]http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXLXT7&P=0[/link]

All I could find was good talk on it.