Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

E-Revo or Truggy for Bashing and occasional race

Old 10-13-2009, 12:17 PM
Thothtp

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default E-Revo or Truggy for Bashing and occasional race

Hey guys, I am fairly new to RC after coming back to the hobby after 8 years, and have been bitten hard by the brushless bug. I have a Rustler VXL that I love, but am finding myself setting it up more for parking lot bashing then anything off road. That being said, I want to get something for dedicated off road use.
I would like something which is very durable and great for bashing, but still gives me the chance to race occasionally. I find that most bashing terrain is too rough for the rustler, and would like something with a bit more capability. 4wd and electric brushless are requirements for me.
I was thinking maybe an E-Revo Brushless or a Brushless truggy would be best, but I am not sure how they compare. I know the Truggy handles a lot better, is more durable, and is faster, but how does it compare for bashing on rough construction sites?
Are truggies really that much more durable then an E-Revo? There is nothing worse then going out with your friends and breaking something right away, leaving you to watch the rest of the time. Parts for the E-Revo are easy to find locally, but I am not sure about any of the truggies out there.
How about buggies, how much does their rough terrain capability and durability suffer compared to truggies? would a buggy better suit me?
If I go truggy, what would be the best to get for maximum bashing durability but still able to avoid embarrassing myself at a race? I have yet to try racing, but I am guessing 80% of my time would be spent bashing and 20% racing.