Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Help with E-Maxx

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2009, 10:18 AM
C-Shack

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with E-Maxx

I just purchased a used E-Maxx 3905 off of E-Bay and i'm hoping someone can help me get this thing running up to par. I'm fairly new to RC Cars but have been flying electric FP Helis for a few years, so I have decent knowledge of electronics. The truck has some upgraded aluminum parts and overall, I feel it was a fair purchase. However, upon receiving the truck I noticed the Steering servo was very week. It can only turn the wheels while the vehicle is moving. Is this normal? I ordered a high-torque servo to replace this. Secondly, I'm getting very short run times with the two 3800mah NiMH packs that I am using. I'm typically getting less than 5 minutes. I didn't feel any binding but I took the gear cover off to inspect the gears and pinions. I noticed that the motor pinions were very tight against the main gear. I backed them off a bit to allow a smoother run. I also noticed that the Shifter Servo has been replaced with a Futaba servo. According to the Tower Hobbies website, it states that this servo has a high current draw and should only be used with NiCad or certain Lipo or NiMH packs that can handle a 2a draw. Since I'm not sure if my packs can handle that, I plan on replacing the servo with a standard servo. For now, I'm going to leave the transmission in one gear and disconnect the servo to see if it makes a difference. I need to recharge the packs tonight and re-test. I'm wondering if there is anything else that I'm missing that can be causing the quick battery drain. Could the ESC or receiver cause high drains and be at fault? Any help, ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Old 11-10-2009, 11:41 AM
t9dragon