Notices
RC Electric On-Road vehicles, race cars and more Discuss electric RC on-road vehicles here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers, brushed motors, etc

Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Old 04-04-2011, 04:12 PM
  #6701  
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North West Indiana
Posts: 12,798
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread


ORIGINAL: Andyjk


ORIGINAL: SerpentCT4S

I just finished building my TT01 E.

I went to setup the ESC and radio today and there seems to be a problem. The ESC I am using is a Tamiya TEU-101BK.

After I set it up, it would work for a few seconds, then the motor would start beeping and the ESC would flash red. I would be able to control it for a few seconds, then it would not work again and beep. At one point, it just beeped and I had no control of it.

Did I do something wrong or is there a problem with the ESC?

Any help?
Sounds to me that you have it set up incorrectly. Make sure all the plugs from the esc and servo are in the correct place. And that you're transmitter is set up right. Sometimes ou may have to reverse the throttle. Follow the instructions included with the esc carefully and you should be ok
or he could have damaged his receiver. the 101bk's from what I remember do not have a BEC in them, and will supply 7.4V's to the RX. If the RX don't have a BEC they fry. One of the guys in the electric threads had issues blowing receivers on a DF-02 till I pointed that out. Think he flund a cheap $7 BEC in it, and that stopped happening
Old 04-04-2011, 04:42 PM
  #6702  
SerpentCT4S
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Flushing, NY
Posts: 229
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread


ORIGINAL: SyCo_VeNoM


ORIGINAL: Andyjk


ORIGINAL: SerpentCT4S

I just finished building my TT01 E.

I went to setup the ESC and radio today and there seems to be a problem. The ESC I am using is a Tamiya TEU-101BK.

After I set it up, it would work for a few seconds, then the motor would start beeping and the ESC would flash red. I would be able to control it for a few seconds, then it would not work again and beep. At one point, it just beeped and I had no control of it.

Did I do something wrong or is there a problem with the ESC?

Any help?
Sounds to me that you have it set up incorrectly. Make sure all the plugs from the esc and servo are in the correct place. And that you're transmitter is set up right. Sometimes ou may have to reverse the throttle. Follow the instructions included with the esc carefully and you should be ok
or he could have damaged his receiver. the 101bk's from what I remember do not have a BEC in them, and will supply 7.4V's to the RX. If the RX don't have a BEC they fry. One of the guys in the electric threads had issues blowing receivers on a DF-02 till I pointed that out. Think he flund a cheap $7 BEC in it, and that stopped happening
So are you saying my receiver is damaged?

Will adding a BEC correct my problem?

I just tried again and its very twitchy and then freezes and does nothing except beep.
Old 04-04-2011, 05:29 PM
  #6703  
cydog510
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread


or he could have damaged his receiver. the 101bk's from what I remember do not have a BEC in them, and will supply 7.4V's to the RX. If the RX don't have a BEC they fry. One of the guys in the electric threads had issues blowing receivers on a DF-02 till I pointed that out. Think he flund a cheap $7 BEC in it, and that stopped happening


yes BE CAREFUL! i had to use a BEC on my tamiya CC-01 with the stock ESC and spektrum RX, you can get em REAL cheap outta HK, 2-3 weeks wait though!


http://cgi.ebay.com/RC-3A-U-BEC-UBEC...item2a08d4dad9

i would say do not try any more, if you really wanna run it while you wait for the BEC, you can power the RX off of 4 AA batts.(the 4 batt holder usually comes with older transmitter kits)
Old 04-04-2011, 06:41 PM
  #6704  
SerpentCT4S
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Flushing, NY
Posts: 229
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

I tried using the 4AA and it worked fine. I'll have to buy a BEC.

Is that the only way to correct my problem?
Old 04-04-2011, 07:54 PM
  #6705  
cydog510
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

it is my understanding that yes it is. i am sure you will upgrade to brushless or higher end set up where the ESC has a BEC(most ESC's) in the future.
Old 04-04-2011, 09:53 PM
  #6706  
beast_C_A_T
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

TORX bits

Old 04-05-2011, 01:49 PM
  #6707  
Haddi Taha
Senior Member
 
Haddi Taha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,901
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

i got those, i will try when i get back from work tonight
Old 04-11-2011, 06:08 PM
  #6708  
t/a guy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: milton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

new hpi Mclaren body and a new tt01r type underneath.5700kv brushless w/3s lipo. Lots of fun!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51927.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	63.8 KB
ID:	1592645   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr50556.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	67.0 KB
ID:	1592646  
Old 04-11-2011, 06:10 PM
  #6709  
t/a guy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: milton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Exhaust tips are mandatory.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf98331.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	71.3 KB
ID:	1592647  
Old 04-11-2011, 06:11 PM
  #6710  
aftermarket
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 872
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Haha diggin' the tips. Do you have tranny hop-ups for that 3s lipo+5700 setup?
Old 04-11-2011, 11:06 PM
  #6711  
Haddi Taha
Senior Member
 
Haddi Taha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,901
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

tried hammering the torx bit in, didn't work, have to get new pinion.
No biggie, it allows me to gear up.
Old 04-12-2011, 05:29 AM
  #6712  
t/a guy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: milton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

no real hop ups, just steel pinions, I roll into the throttle soft and bring it up to speed.If I just gass it, things will break for sure. I have been playing with tt01's for a couple years and learned all about melted / stripped gears.
Old 04-12-2011, 11:31 AM
  #6713  
aftermarket
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 872
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Not even an aluminum prop shaft/joints?? Must take some serious throttle control on your part!
Old 04-12-2011, 01:17 PM
  #6714  
t/a guy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: milton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

sorry, I thought you meant as in spur gears. It is 'r ' version type 'e' so it came with all the good stuff like alum shaft,steel drive shafts and cups etc. So I guess you could say the tranny is done right. I have used 9000kv in a standard un modded tt01,and blew the shaft up, but outside of that, an alum shaft is all I ever really added. This is my first all hopped up car. I have used the yeah racing & 3 racing stuff,but it weighs so much ,the car is actually slower.My fastest runs have been with a base tt01 with camber arms and an alum shaft with cheap plastic oil shocks with 50wt oil and stock springs,and nothing else.The plastic shafts & cups are pretty strong,but the main d/s is just too flexy. I found that when the upper stiffener was on, the car was too bouncy ( did not flex enough) above 45mph.
Old 04-12-2011, 02:33 PM
  #6715  
aftermarket
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 872
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Very nice. I remember my first tamiya choice was between the tt-01 and the tb-03/ta-05. I wanted to have an r/c that could have me contempt for a while before having to buy hop-ups when I could get some income. Otherwise, I would have chosen the tt-01 for the simplicity. I only bash, haha.
Old 04-12-2011, 02:35 PM
  #6716  
cydog510
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread


ORIGINAL: aftermarket

Very nice. I remember my first tamiya choice was between the tt-01 and the tb-03/ta-05. I wanted to have an r/c that could have me contempt for a while before having to buy hop-ups when I could get some income. Otherwise, I would have chosen the tt-01 for the simplicity. I only bash, haha.
'

both are stellar chassis!
Old 04-13-2011, 12:08 AM
  #6717  
Haddi Taha
Senior Member
 
Haddi Taha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,901
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

i use my tb03 over the tt01 for speed runs because the tb03 drivetrain is stronger and i have much more gearing options.
TT01 is fun in 60km/h parking lot races
Old 05-16-2011, 10:47 AM
  #6718  
Razorback89
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Amman, JORDAN
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Guys I need some help!

What i have:

Tamiya TT-01 with: Yeah Racing full conversion kit, EZRun 5.5T+60A ESC

I'm running my car for racing, but mostly for drifting. My car is getting VERY heavy
and for a drift car, it should be very light .. so what should I do?

I found a 3Racing graphite chassis conversion ..would that help? please let me know guys
Old 05-16-2011, 03:07 PM
  #6719  
Andyjk
Senior Member
 
Andyjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 481
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Are you using nimh or lipo batteries?
Old 05-16-2011, 08:35 PM
  #6720  
Razorback89
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Amman, JORDAN
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread


ORIGINAL: Andyjk

Are you using nimh or lipo batteries?
nimh but should be converting to lipo later on

Old 05-16-2011, 08:55 PM
  #6721  
Andyjk
Senior Member
 
Andyjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 481
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

Lipos are like half the weight of nimh. Changing to lipo would see the biggest drop in weight
Old 05-16-2011, 11:30 PM
  #6722  
Razorback89
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Amman, JORDAN
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread


ORIGINAL: Andyjk

Lipos are like half the weight of nimh. Changing to lipo would see the biggest drop in weight
But it's way too heavy even with the battery out of it

Old 05-17-2011, 12:49 AM
  #6723  
Haddi Taha
Senior Member
 
Haddi Taha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,901
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

da thread is back from the dead 
Old 05-17-2011, 08:12 AM
  #6724  
cydog510
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread


ORIGINAL: Razorback89

Guys I need some help!

What i have:

Tamiya TT-01 with: Yeah Racing full conversion kit, EZRun 5.5T+60A ESC

I'm running my car for racing, but mostly for drifting. My car is getting VERY heavy
and for a drift car, it should be very light .. so what should I do?

I found a 3Racing graphite chassis conversion ..would that help? please let me know guys
Old 05-17-2011, 08:16 AM
  #6725  
cydog510
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Tamiya TT-01 Thread

ORIGINAL: Razorback89

Guys I need some help!

What i have:

Tamiya TT-01 with: Yeah Racing full conversion kit, EZRun 5.5T+60A ESC

I'm running my car for racing, but mostly for drifting. My car is getting VERY heavy
and for a drift car, it should be very light .. so what should I do?

I found a 3Racing graphite chassis conversion ..would that help? please let me know guys
you need to ditch all that heavy aluminum, plastic is lighter and more flexible than aluminum, the TT01 is a
starter kit, it's hard to get any more performance out of it, most of those aluminum bits are just extra weight.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.