Notices
RC Fuels Nitromethane, Castor Oil, Synthetic, heli fuel, 4 stroke, etc...Fuel Q&A is here!

How Do I Fuel Up?

Old 05-23-2003, 11:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How Do I Fuel Up?

I am new to RC. Have a trainer with an OS 40 engine. I am ready to run in the engine before going to the field to find an experienced wizard to help get me flying and want to have all the non-flying things understood so I can spend field time learning to fly.
Of all the info available I have found nothing that clearly explains how to fill the tank. Would like to use and understand the setup I have before going to more efficient/faster methods. Have a hand crank pump and a set of fuel can fittings (Great Planes).
Jug & fittings
The fuel pickup line with clunk/filter is installed into one of the two holes drilled into the jug cap....that's simple.
A fitting is installed into the second cap hole. Is this fitting an open vent used during pumping from the jug? I assume the fuel probe (has a small "O" ring) is connected to the fuelup point to fill the plane's tank then place back into that fitting during de-fueling and to keep the jug sealed from air. Am I wrong?
Filling the Tank
I have two lines from the tank...fuel line with clunk and pressure line from muffler. The fuel inlet (just before the needle valve) is a tedious reach to be disconnecting for each fuelup. Do I have to fill there? If the fill is done anywhere after the needle valve I assume the needle valve has to be opened to allow fuel to flow past to get into the tank. The line between the outlet and the carb is easily accessible. I understand that flooding fuel into the muffler isn't good but can filling the tank from the pressure line be done?