Community
Search
Notices
RC Fuels Nitromethane, Castor Oil, Synthetic, heli fuel, 4 stroke, etc...Fuel Q&A is here!

How to "Make" own fuel

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2009, 08:41 AM
mustangman177

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to "Make" own fuel

Need some advice from the" Fuel Brewing People" out there

Been doing some reading on "Brewing" your own fuel and looks economical compared to the prices of fuel in hobby shops. My question is how to "Brew".

AsI see it, the 2 main components are: Castor oil and Methanol, mixed at % of 20% oil to 80% methanol ?

I have a gallon of Klotz's Benol oil. http://www.klotzlube.com/smallprodimages/BC-175.jpg, Where do I get the Methanol to mix with ?

ANY other technical data on mixing would be GREATLY appreciated. I've been buying fuel for 20 years -mostly Byron's 15% Nitro., but the cost is getting too high. Last time was around $20. a gallon. Sure bet it has gone up since then.

Thanks for your help
Old 01-31-2009, 09:56 AM
mustangman177

Default RE: How to "Make" own fuel

Just read the "Home Brewing Fuel" post after submitting my post, and being over 300 posts long is quite informative. The general concensus is that the "Mix" below works ?

Didn't take the time to read all 300 posts, but Methanol and Nitro. can be obtained from a speed shop, Klotz's KL-200 is the oil of choice. Is this similar to their Benol oil ?

My 4 mix:

16% Klotz KL-200

4% Racing Castor

10% Nitro

70% Methanol

Best fuel money can buy
Old 01-31-2009, 10:33 AM
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

....yep.
Old 01-31-2009, 12:18 PM
mustangman177

Thanks Dave...... By making your own fuel, What would you say is the cost per gallon for brewing ? Would like to compare to buying pre-mixed fuell.
Old 01-31-2009, 02:14 PM
Flyboy Dave

....I haven't mixed my own fuel for over 17 years, but when I did it was 15% nitro
and 15% oil....1/3 castor and 2/3 Klotz. Back then it cost 6 bucks a gallon. Nitro has