Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Giant Scale Cars
Reload this Page >

Servos glitch once engine starts

Notices
RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

Servos glitch once engine starts

Old 12-03-2018, 09:37 PM
  #1  
seansco999
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servos glitch once engine starts

Hey all,

On my 1/5th scale Redcat Rampage MT, I am having trouble with my servos glitching once the engine is tarted. When the engine is off booth steering and throttle servos are 100% normal. As soon as i fire up the engine they both start glitching (seems like it could be RF issues). I do have 2.4GHz radio frequency and am using spektrum receiver. Sometimes when I try and give the truck about half throttle, it will go straight to full throttle and get stuck there for a few seconds. I got this truck a couple months ago used, and previous driver indicated no such problems. I did put in the spektrum receiver, killer bee kill switch, and a new spark plug.

I have checked the servos, they are great and no issue there. I think there is some RF coming from either the spark plug, somewhere else on the engine, or possibly the killer bee kill switch?

I dont know what would cause the servos to jitter so bad, and what would also cause them to randomly go full throttle and stick. RF is my only thought.

I plan to install the old kill switch back, tighten down the spark plug, and potentially go with a different receiver if this all fail.

Please lend me some ideas, or if you have encountered a similar problems.

Thanks,

Sean
Old 12-04-2018, 05:30 AM
  #2  
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 9,898
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Check to make sure the plug cap is securely seated on the plug. If the plug cap is metal, it needs to be firmly locked into the spark plug.

Also, you did use a resistor spark plug, right?
Old 12-04-2018, 07:51 AM
  #3  
seansco999
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Spark Plug is (Type H-CMR5), I dont know if this is resistor or not. (new to gas models, only have had nitro and brushless before) I will re-seed the spark plug tonight and and make sure the plug can is secure
Old 12-04-2018, 08:46 AM
  #4  
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 9,898
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

If it’s a true NGK CMR5H (#7599), it should be a resistor plug. Check the plug cap and also check to ensure the receiver is as far away from the ignition as possible. Is the engine CDI equipped or magneto?
Old 12-04-2018, 08:44 PM
  #5  
seansco999
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

While troubleshooting I switched out my Hitech analog servo for a Savox digital one. All the noice is gone and everything seems to be working as normal
Old 12-04-2018, 11:06 PM
  #6  
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 9,898
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

While not usually necessary, I’m still glad you found a solution.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.