Community
Search
Notices
RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

Clutch Slipping on FG MB

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2004, 04:05 PM
rfaster
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch Slipping on FG MB

Hi Guys,

Wondering if anyone else has had their clutch start slipping? Hoping its something I can adjust... MB ran like a champ, then I noticed it was not engaging fully. Trying to determine the best way to troubleshoot this issue. Are there any doc's on how to take the engine/clutch off the buggy to inspect. I'm new at the FG thing - I would usually just grab the manual - is there an online manual for the MB?

Thanks.
Old 10-07-2004, 05:22 PM
quarterscalelegends

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Clutch Slipping on FG MB

Clutches last for a VERY long time and probably is not the problem. You probably dont have an adjustable one since they are a upgrade, although you can change the springs to engage earlier or later. I think you may have another problem. When its running have you put your foot in front of it and ran the throttle hard? What happens? Do the wheels spin? does the diff spin? does the drive gear spin? does the pinion spin? Work your way from the rear wheels to the pinion and see where its failing! I would guess the drive gear has gone bad.
Old 10-07-2004, 05:30 PM
ammdrew

I would guess you have a set screw loose on the rear outdrives or a gear, or you may have rounded out the gear carrier on the spur.
very unlikly the clutch is slipping moer likly for it to be grabbing to much.
Old 10-07-2004, 07:50 PM
rfaster

Spoke with Andrew - and went thru the troubleshooting steps - Thanks Andrew!

It looks like the one-way ( I have the 2 speed installed) - so I have the 2 one way bearings on order - should be set by end of next week. Good news is that i now know how to tear the car apart :-)