Notices
RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

New to the 1/5 scale RC world

Old 10-24-2008, 09:57 AM
  #526  
mbe301
Senior Member
 
mbe301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB, CANADA
Posts: 468
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

I used the ddm spring. Man what a difference (once I got the bugger on) Here's some pics of the Blue Meanie
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv63170.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	111.9 KB
ID:	1057901   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw71399.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	68.6 KB
ID:	1057902   Click image for larger version

Name:	Io29029.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	130.9 KB
ID:	1057903   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ic85074.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	146.0 KB
ID:	1057904   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sd44530.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	154.1 KB
ID:	1057905  
Old 10-24-2008, 12:36 PM
  #527  
davido666
Senior Member
 
davido666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London, ON, CANADA
Posts: 920
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world


ORIGINAL: mbe301

I used the ddm spring. Man what a difference (once I got the bugger on) Here's some pics of the Blue Meanie
Ya I think I will try again this weekend to get the spring on. My son said he was going to help me to try and get the spring on the clutch.
Nice looking truck. What engine do you have in it.
Old 10-24-2008, 12:46 PM
  #528  
slawhammer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewPhiladelphia, OH
Posts: 885
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

mbe301.....Nice truck....Did you get your carb figured out...

David0666:You will get it ...But the spring will be a big difference...
Not much going on here for Rc stuff..Rain Day...
All replies welcome..AKASlawhammer
Old 10-24-2008, 01:17 PM
  #529  
davido666
Senior Member
 
davido666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London, ON, CANADA
Posts: 920
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

They are forcasting rain in our area for the weekend.
Old 10-24-2008, 03:37 PM
  #530  
mbe301
Senior Member
 
mbe301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB, CANADA
Posts: 468
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

Just running the stock motor with DDM torque pipe. Before the DDM spring I was a little disappointed with the performace (went really fast, but took awhile to get there, I was thinking of getting a head kit and 803 carb to help, but no longer need it). Now, it's a little scary to drive, it's either fast, or stupid fast (makes me nervous after putting all the time into it)
This one has always run perfect for me, I was having problems (still some) with the carb on my TQ baja (bolts for the carb are too long and create air leak). Quality control on them suck (both TQ baja and MT), but with a couple mods and one or two hop-ups they're perfect (for me anyway)
Here's the TQ baja, it got the wing from my FS buggy, removed the purple (easy-off oven cleaner) and I'm ordering three more of the DDM springs (for the baja, FS buggy and truck) Over the winter my FS vehicles will get done up
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Db84399.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	67.6 KB
ID:	1058098   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cy77120.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	66.1 KB
ID:	1058099   Click image for larger version

Name:	Va73483.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	1058100  
Old 10-24-2008, 04:29 PM
  #531  
slawhammer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewPhiladelphia, OH
Posts: 885
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

mbe301: Looks good my friend...If you go with a 29CC head kit & stroker crank with what you have now It will be a real
screamer...I went with the 803 carb my self..very finakey to adjust ,,got to stay on it most of the time...The old carb 668
seemed to leak a little and I feel a bogging problem...Was suggested by rhyan at DDM to go with the 803....I can see where this
would help a stock 23CC engine...But later found out these carbs are used by mostly boat guys..for wide open throttle....
So maybe come this winter when the snow falls..I will get a rebuild kit for the 668 carb...Or just buy a new one (668)...
Have the rebuild for a spare.....
Well glad to hear you found your air leaks and got that taken care of......As for my self I use womans clear nail polish to
install all my gaskets in place..let dry and just use a tad shorter bolt or screw to hold down the insulator block and same with the carb...
So far no air leaks...I do the same for the exhaust gasket..Never had a air leak....Oh take that back..exhaust bolt came loose ..even used
lock tite on the exhaust bolts..But I think the heat melted the lock tite...So now the exhaust bolts are safety wired...Have yet too come loose...
I Have do so much for mods and extra precautions..But this is all good...So now I can go play and not have any issues..unles I do some thing
stupid..like out of control....crazy driving....Ther is a lot of money invested in my firehammer...Not even going to say..way more than intended to
spend...My son's got 90 % of the stuff for me....I did buy from a RCU Member Hellya..Nice fellow and he also help with ideas on my firehammer..
That reminds me..got to get a hold of him..think he has if not sold already a camcorder I am looking for...Thanks for your reply keep up the good work..
All Replies welcome...AKASlawhammer
Old 10-26-2008, 03:58 PM
  #532  
slawhammer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewPhiladelphia, OH
Posts: 885
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

Yeah ..It warmed up too 60* degrees out and some what dried off from the rain,,,I had the firehammer out for a good run,,
all was going great for about 15 minutes..running on a strightaway and for some reason the steering would not turn in any given
direction..Hit the electronic kill switch..Shut right down...Love that electronic kill switch...I did not hit any thing today ..all clear running..
Not sure about the bell crank on the servo..if loose or if the gears are bad in the servo...The servo's are still orig yet...But looks time
for a rhino servo.for steering...and a TS-80 for throttle/brake...Now only thing that is orig is chassie pan & body..I have replaced and
modified the rest....My Firehammer MT clone is as good if not better than the Fg Mader...All replies welcome..AKASlawhammer
Old 10-27-2008, 05:50 PM
  #533  
slawhammer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewPhiladelphia, OH
Posts: 885
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

I didn't look at the servo yet..I just went ahead and ordered the rhino and TS-80 servo's..I charged the 8.4 volt battery..wowo I was 9.2 volts
full charge..The voltage regulator has done a great job..I got 3 full tanks of fuel before checking the battery..My battery was down to 7.5 volts
So I know I can run for at least 6 full tanks of fuel...All replies welcome..AKA Slawhammer
Old 10-27-2008, 07:27 PM
  #534  
davido666
Senior Member
 
davido666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London, ON, CANADA
Posts: 920
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

Is that ts-80 the large scale servo from tower hobbies site? Do you need to use the Y-cable with it or does the receiver handle the current ok. I was looking at the hitech HS-805BB servo to replace the one on my truck. My servo works but doesn't have the torque. I see both servos have the same specs.
Old 10-27-2008, 07:39 PM
  #535  
slawhammer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewPhiladelphia, OH
Posts: 885
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

David0666: I chose the TS-80 for the torque and all metal gears and ball bearings..From what I gather you need the Y-Harness..it comes with
the servo...It will be used for the throttle & brake..lots of torque ...Yes.. from tower ..type in ..ts-80 ...in search box ...read the tech notes...
The rhino is the bigger servo..used for the steering...I ordered from tower they seemed to have the best price's....
All replies welcome...AKA Slawhammer
Old 10-28-2008, 02:17 PM
  #536  
slawhammer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewPhiladelphia, OH
Posts: 885
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

Oh yeah..mix bag of weather here today,,sleat,rain,snow showers..like 34* degrees out...I got comfermation the the
servo's being shipped ...So maybe here by this sat..So ready to take the radio tray apart.....Otherwise the big 4x4 truck now has the all new rear end ..posi lock..
new brakes with new drums....Be one less thing there to worry about come deep snow....All replies welcome..AKA Slawhammer
Old 10-28-2008, 04:49 PM
  #537  
davido666
Senior Member
 
davido666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London, ON, CANADA
Posts: 920
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

Isn't the ts-80 a 1/4 steering servo? how will you use it for the throttle it won't fit in the hole.
Old 10-28-2008, 10:19 PM
  #538  
slawhammer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewPhiladelphia, OH
Posts: 885
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

David0666:..HHHmmmm ya might be right on the TS-80 servo..maybe no think my part..I can cut the hole bigger for the servo....If
ever want to use smaller servo just make a cover plate for the small servo...I am pretty sure I need the torque for the brakes...
Or I can hold off with the TS-80 and use it just for brakes ..front & rear only on a different channel.....Well then maybe a HI-Tec 5599
not sure of the number..I can look it up..Push comes to shove I can take HI-Tec servo from my nitro truck...Don't use it any more..
maga buck dust collector ...I can use the servo's and spectrum rec......All replies welcome..AKA Slawhammer

EDIT:Hi-Tec servo 5955 tg
Old 10-28-2008, 10:32 PM
  #539  
davido666
Senior Member
 
davido666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London, ON, CANADA
Posts: 920
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

I put in one of the digital mg995 servos for the throttle and brake and it locks up the rear tires no problem. I just want a better steering servo so that is why I was looking at the hitec one.
Old 10-28-2008, 10:43 PM
  #540  
slawhammer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewPhiladelphia, OH
Posts: 885
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

David0666: I read about Rhino being a great servo for the 1/5 scale steering...Tower has the best price right now for that...
Well your correct on the TS-80 servo for steering...for the money that would be the less expensive way to go vs Rhino..
So looks like I might get a different transmitter come spring time with more channels...Stick control....5 or 6 channels
that way I have some choices to play with...for a couple mods...Possiable will do hydarlic brakes come spring..see how the
money situation is then...All replies welcome....AKA Slawhammer
Old 10-29-2008, 10:32 AM
  #541  
slawhammer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewPhiladelphia, OH
Posts: 885
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

All quite on the home front today..just waiting for parts for the firehammer...As for my engine I have a 29CC head kit with 2mm stroker crank
But come this winter maybe in December..I might tear this engine down and do a porting job..If not just get 30.5 engine and port that one..with a reed valve also..
I have ported in dirt bikes in the past as well as nitro..to get better performance..All replies welcome..AKA Slawhammer
Old 10-29-2008, 12:18 PM
  #542  
mooman007uk
Senior Member
 
mooman007uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: parksville, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,786
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

Hey slaw if you're after a good brake servo have a look at the jrz9100t, 370 ozin of torque from a standard size servo and real fast



as you can see I'm running one for each brake (a little overkill for the hydros but they do need quiet a lot of power to lock em up) and I think they're awesome.. just about the most powerfull one on the market. I got the pair off ebay for $250inc shipping, they retail for about $135ea

If you're after steering then rhino digi4 is the only way to go, initial torque 383ozin with 280 holding torque and .12sec 60degrees. My baja actually steers now[sm=spinnyeyes.gif]
there was such a difference in speed I had to change the proportion on my handset to slow it down to where I could control it. It'll keep the wheels locked to the stops turning wot on grass.....well worth the $110.
Old 10-29-2008, 01:24 PM
  #543  
slawhammer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewPhiladelphia, OH
Posts: 885
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

Hey moonman:I have the Rhino servo digi 4 on order should be here this SAT..I have looked into that jr9100t servo..I can't locate one..as of yet..
I found a ACE DS1015 that might work for throttle & brake....I can use Hitec 5955t servo..I will have to redo the radio tray..not much room for things....
Thanks for the input...All replies welcome..AKA Slawhammer

EDIT: Found a jrDS8711 standard servo 403 oz torque...Little pricy but I guess that's what I need
Old 10-29-2008, 03:44 PM
  #544  
slawhammer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewPhiladelphia, OH
Posts: 885
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

Ok..Here's a Question: Does any one know if a standard FG radio try will work in a Firehammer MT?
I see there is a extra standard servo hole...Coz there is not much room on the firehammer radio tray..
All replies welcome..AKA Slawhammer
Old 10-29-2008, 03:51 PM
  #545  
mooman007uk
Senior Member
 
mooman007uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: parksville, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,786
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

check out this link for fg parts that fit the firehammer [link]http://bigboystoysandhobbies.com/duratrax_[/link]

Horizon hobby has the jrz9100t for 139.99
Old 10-29-2008, 04:08 PM
  #546  
slawhammer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewPhiladelphia, OH
Posts: 885
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

moonman: sad part is the local hobby shop here is never open..yeah there auth dealer for horizon..I can go to the local shop
any time of day there always closed..been that way for like last 6 months...Thanks for the info I will be checking our big boys.
I forgot about them...For the nearest hobby shop is 50 miles away from where I live..So on-line seems to be better....
Many thanks to you my friend..All replies welcome..AKA Slawhammer
Old 10-29-2008, 04:15 PM
  #547  
mooman007uk
Senior Member
 
mooman007uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: parksville, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,786
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

For cross referencing parts I always look on hobbythek site [link]http://www.rc-car-online-shop.de/lshop,showrub,16911,e,1205605033-16911,fg,,,,.htm[/link] they have pictures of every part and tell you which bits are for what models and which have been upgraded ie. the radio tray part#6116 is now 6117 which is same fitting as 6118 (the standard fg tray) all makes sense when you browse their site
Old 10-29-2008, 04:16 PM
  #548  
Lars from Norway
 
Lars from Norway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Norheimsund, NORWAY
Posts: 3,158
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

Have you seen under your radiobox after a hole for the servo as it is on the FG's radiotray?Is it some space for the brakeservo you are looking for?
Old 10-29-2008, 04:27 PM
  #549  
slawhammer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NewPhiladelphia, OH
Posts: 885
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

Moonman: Boy oh boy..today is non think day for me..I knew about rc-onlie...thanks again..

Lars: yes.. you are correct I could move the small box for the Rec. and make a plate for the extra servo
and relocate the Rec electrical box...I will take a photo of my radio tray..It is tight for items...
Thanks guys....All replies welcome..AKA Slawhammer
Old 10-29-2008, 04:33 PM
  #550  
Lars from Norway
 
Lars from Norway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Norheimsund, NORWAY
Posts: 3,158
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to the 1/5 scale RC world

You have already done that,hehe!

Place the radiobox transverse mounted on the rods between the rollcage and front bulkhead

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.