Notices
RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

AMS or Venom failsafe?

Old 04-16-2010, 07:35 PM
  #1  
NitroBurn1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: , CO
Posts: 554
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AMS or Venom failsafe?

Which of these would you guys recommend?

http://www.davesmotors.com/s.nl/c.88...t.A/id.2876/.f

http://www.davesmotors.com/s.nl/c.88...t.A/id.3561/.f
Old 04-16-2010, 07:40 PM
  #2  
DarkFire989
Senior Member
 
DarkFire989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 6,626
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AMS or Venom failsafe?

Neither, get one made by Killer Bee.
Old 04-16-2010, 08:40 PM
  #3  
NitroBurn1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: , CO
Posts: 554
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AMS or Venom failsafe?

Which Killer Bee, the v1 or v2?
Old 04-16-2010, 08:53 PM
  #4  
Johnnysplits
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,067
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AMS or Venom failsafe?

Check out thier website and see which one fits your needs. I use the V1 on an Airtronics M11X
Old 04-16-2010, 09:12 PM
  #5  
Freezetron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mountains
Posts: 2,139
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AMS or Venom failsafe?

None, useless in a Baja. Get a Killer Bee. I use the V1 with a blue LED status light.

http://www.killerrc.com/products/pro...killswitch.php


Old 04-16-2010, 09:27 PM
  #6  
goneracing_83
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Battle Creek, IA
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AMS or Venom failsafe?

go to this site.... http://www.largescalerc.com/search.a...lse&category=4 its where i got my killer bee failsafe. i run a spektrum dx3e system and it works great!!!! make sure you get the one that will work with your radio system. i got the V1 killerbee. there is a list of radio systems that each version is good for. hope that helps.
Old 04-17-2010, 09:44 AM
  #7  
hndaman1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
hndaman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: sheboygan, WI
Posts: 2,242
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AMS or Venom failsafe?


ORIGINAL: goneracing_83

go to this site.... http://www.largescalerc.com/search.a...lse&category=4 its where i got my killer bee failsafe. i run a spektrum dx3e system and it works great!!!! make sure you get the one that will work with your radio system. i got the V1 killerbee. there is a list of radio systems that each version is good for. hope that helps.

I have the killbee, for my spektrum dx3.0 but it doesn't work with with a 3rd channel? that was the whole point for getting it.. not just for turning off the radio to kill the enigne..
Old 04-17-2010, 10:13 AM
  #8  
mooman007uk
Senior Member
 
mooman007uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: parksville, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,786
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AMS or Venom failsafe?

you have to get the right one, you'll note at the bottom of the page certain kill switches will not work with hpi, spektrum and nomadio handsets...i run a V1 with a nomadio react with no trouble
Old 04-17-2010, 01:17 PM
  #9  
Lars from Norway
 
Lars from Norway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Norheimsund, NORWAY
Posts: 3,157
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AMS or Venom failsafe?

The version 2 seems great, you don't have to occupie a whole channel for it to use it. This means you can use for example brakemix between 2. and 3rd channel, and just use an Y-cabel and connect the KillerBee to one of the 2 channels. The engine will not be killed if you operate the channel it is connected to.
Old 04-17-2010, 01:22 PM
  #10  
Freezetron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mountains
Posts: 2,139
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AMS or Venom failsafe?

I opted for the V1 with the 3rd channel as that still allows you to steer the dead Baja where as the V2, you may kill the engine, but it's still gonna roll and you can't control it cause your radio is off. Sure, the fail safe will kick in, but still.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.