Notices
RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

Choking an 813

Old 06-19-2010, 10:55 PM
  #1  
ByronRC
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
ByronRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 871
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Choking an 813

Quick question for all the 813 carb owners and those that know. How do you choke an 813 carb. I have one on one of my boats and I just put my thumb over the intake to choke as do most boaters because most carbs that are on boats don't have chokes. Doing the same on my 5t won't help as there is a filter in the way that is a pain in the you know what to take off. So what's a guy to do?
Old 06-19-2010, 11:09 PM
  #2  
DIABLOTAC78
Senior Member
 
DIABLOTAC78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ATHENS, GREECE
Posts: 410
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Choking an 813

hi byron , i think you have to pump the gas bulb several times and give it a WOT 3 times .
Old 06-19-2010, 11:14 PM
  #3  
clubin
Senior Member
 
clubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North of Wpg., MB, CANADA
Posts: 1,353
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Choking an 813

I agree, the 813 has a accellerator pump. All it takes it to prome the bulb and pump the throttle a few times.
Old 06-19-2010, 11:17 PM
  #4  
ByronRC
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
ByronRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 871
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Choking an 813

so there's no need to choke? ok?
Old 06-20-2010, 03:00 AM
  #5  
da mad maori
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 771
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Choking an 813

if ya engine is nicely tuned and good compression, just prime the bulb, pump the throttle a couple times and it should just fire up
Old 06-20-2010, 08:47 AM
  #6  
BigGrump
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Temple City, CA
Posts: 678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Choking an 813

Yup, the carb has an accelerator pump that squirts enough gas into the carb so to prime it. Only problem is that accelerator pump is not always reliable. Mine failed right away and took about 20 pumps to prime, then fail altogether. I switched to a 668 carb with a built in choke and never had any more problems.

While people that have working 813 carbs defend them, I have found them failing too often for me to be able to appreciate them.

Dennis
Old 06-20-2010, 09:43 AM
  #7  
mooman007uk
Senior Member
 
mooman007uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: parksville, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,786
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Choking an 813

i ran nothing else for the last 2 years , great carbs but they have a short life span in dirt, ( I'm now back with 668's after going thru about 6 813's...still have one on my pig but it's now starting to flood which means it's the end of it's useful life)...with the 813 the shaft, piston and pump circuit wear out after a while and then it's time for a new one.

after mounting it make sure you silicon the half hole that's left exposed near the top on the side that faces the motor and closest to the linkage arm on the shaft...it's the hole the ball and piston slide into and needs to be sealed up to prevent premature wear of the shaft and pump
Old 06-21-2010, 07:04 PM
  #8  
Johnnysplits
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,067
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Choking an 813

ByronRC -
You can always get a choke plate that mounts between the carb and iso block.
Old 06-22-2010, 12:23 AM
  #9  
ByronRC
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
ByronRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 871
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Choking an 813

Johnysplits where at can you give me a link.
Old 06-22-2010, 06:10 PM
  #10  
Johnnysplits
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,067
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Choking an 813

You can pick one up at DDM for $9.50
Old 07-04-2010, 05:28 AM
  #11  
splcrazy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: somewhere
Posts: 3,237
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Choking an 813


ORIGINAL: mooman007uk

i ran nothing else for the last 2 years , great carbs but they have a short life span in dirt, ( I'm now back with 668's after going thru about 6 813's...still have one on my pig but it's now starting to flood which means it's the end of it's useful life)...with the 813 the shaft, piston and pump circuit wear out after a while and then it's time for a new one.

after mounting it make sure you silicon the half hole that's left exposed near the top on the side that faces the motor and closest to the linkage arm on the shaft...it's the hole the ball and piston slide into and needs to be sealed up to prevent premature wear of the shaft and pump
what i do with that hole is i first spray oil in it then pack it with grease and its sealed and lubed up good, no need to worry about it again

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.