Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

New to sailplanes

Old 11-17-2011, 05:20 PM
zdog59

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to sailplanes

Hey all,

I'm relatively new to the RC sport and have an interest in sailplanes. Currently I've been flying for about 3 months and have a 40 series Avistar. I've been flying with an instructor and made very good progress. To date I'm taking off, landing and doing some simple aerobatics. I'm also getting comfortable flying in some challenging wind/weather situations. In addition, I own realflight 5.5 and amgettinga good deal of hours with different planes.

I'm a new member of the local club (lots of nitro stuff) but the field is a good distance away from me. After flying some sailplanes on realflight and watching one of the club member fly his radian pro a couple weeks back, I've built an interest in sailplanes as a way to betterunderstandaerodynamics and have some fun flying at the local parks. I currently have a Futaba 2.4 7C and have startedexperimentingwith mixing controls. That concept really interests me. The question is, should I look at getting a Radian or Radian pro. I've read quite a bit about the pro being too much for a beginner, but I'm also concerned with a 3 channel aircraft. I currently fly using mostlyailerons, and rudder on landing. I'm not sure how it would be flying a plane with just rudder. (Also, on a 3 channel, do people set up the ruder on the right or left thumbstick?)