Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

pilot qualifications

Old 02-16-2012, 01:16 PM
rduff55

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default pilot qualifications

I need some help finding some guidelines for glider pilot qualifications. I am a club safety officer and we are trying to find some qualifications for new pilots and or new members that are joining our club. We need some guidelines so if a new member joins our club they will need to be able to demonstrate that they can fly safely. I have no glider training or experence. Any information would be great, I have already checked the AMA sight but was unable to find anything just about gliders.

thanks
rduff55
Old 02-16-2012, 01:22 PM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 149 Likes on 128 Posts
Default RE: pilot qualifications

I'm not sure if my glider club has such a thing but I would want a new pilot to be able to demonstrate a winch or hi-start launch and land in a 20 ft circle before the instructor signs them off.
Old 02-16-2012, 01:29 PM
rduff55

Hay speedracerntrixie thanks for the advice. Would you have the new pilot do any other basic flight manuvers?
rduff55
Old 02-16-2012, 01:59 PM
kwmtrubrit