Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

Great Planes Kunai, fuselage breakage

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Great Planes Kunai, fuselage breakage

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2022, 01:42 PM
baerster

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Great Planes Kunai, fuselage breakage

Hello,

I bought two used Kunais. One is assembled and had been flown and had some repairs before I got it, while the other is still in the box and has not been assembled. I am learning to fly the assembled one before I put the in-box one together. I am a beginning-intermediate pilot, and I have had two slow-speed crashes with the Kunai that resulted in the fuselage breaking just aft of the wing, because of how the wing tip hit the ground and the twisting force that stressed the fuse. I have repaired it twice with epoxy and fiberglass cloth. My question is about whether it's normal for a fiberglass fuselage to break even if the crash is only about 5 mph. I suspect it is normal, and that I have been spoiled by foam planes that can take more abuse. As I mentioned earlier, I am going to improve my flying skills before I put the other Kunai together and risk breaking that one. I am also going to try using a nylon screw to hold the wing on, so that it might shear off before the fuselage snaps if there is a twisting force on the wing in a crash.
Old 07-10-2022, 07:57 PM
tedsander

Received 68 Likes on 64 Posts