Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Building a 3m PARAGON

Old 10-02-2006, 03:29 AM
mamak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building a 3m PARAGON

Hi,

I bought a 3m Paragon glider kit a few years back and intended to build it. I am an experience flyer and builder with more then 10 years of rc flying. Eventhough I have other rc flying background with me, I have never flown of build gliders before. I’m planning on using brushless motor for the glider. Before I started building I would like to clear certain things:

1) Do I go ‘full house’ (Rudder/Elevator/Ailerons) on the kit or do you guys have any ideas?
2) Do I need the flaps/spoilers etc?
3) What type of brushless (kv?) do I go for and is a 3 cell lipo be sufficient enough?
4) Types of servo to use on each channel ie: standard/mini/micro?
5) What type of covering to use and is monocote good enough?

Thanks guys.
Old 10-02-2006, 08:52 AM
soarrich
My Feedback: (98)

Default RE: Building a 3m PARAGON

ORIGINAL: mamak

1) Do I go ‘full house’ (Rudder/Elevator/Ailerons) on the kit or do you guys have any ideas?
No, this is a rudder, elevator sailplane.

2) Do I need the flaps/spoilers etc?
You want/need spoilers.

3) What type of brushless (kv?) do I go for and is a 3 cell lipo be sufficient enough?
I'll let some one else answer this.

4) Types of servo to use on each channel ie: standard/mini/micro?
It's a big boxy fuse, the plane flies slow, not much load on the servos, it's a poly sailplane so speed and accuracy is not critical = standard servos, maybe HS-55s on each servo blade if you don't want to use strings to activate them.

5) What type of covering to use and is monocote good enough?
Use MonoKote, the wing needs the strength of it.