Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

CMPro Discus 2.6m or Multiplex Cularis Sailplane

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

CMPro Discus 2.6m or Multiplex Cularis Sailplane

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2008, 08:29 PM
Bfan479
My Feedback: (46)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CMPro Discus 2.6m or Multiplex Cularis Sailplane

I plan to get one or the other of these sailplanes and would like anyones input on their experiance with these planes. I have 4 years of RC planes flying experiance but this will be my first sailplane. I'm a good builder and above average sport pilot and don't want to start with something that will be "shelved" in no time! But I haven't worked with EP power as of yet. Thanks...
Old 05-07-2008, 10:53 PM
Ranfred Radius
My Feedback: (8)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: CMPro Discus 2.6m or Multiplex Cularis Sailplane

Unless you are dead set on getting a scale ship, go with the Cularis. I have heard much more favorable things about the Multiplex sailplane, than the Discus!

Randy
Old 05-08-2008, 12:24 AM
kwmtrubrit

Do a search on the Cularis on RCUniverse and RCGroups. I think you will find a less than favourable reports on the Cularis.
Old 05-08-2008, 07:12 PM
Bfan479

Thanks for the info! I'll see if I can find some additional info on this planes. I have watched U-Tube videos on each plane and they both looked to perform real well. I think the concern I have with the Cularis is it construction is some type of foam that I'm not familiure with it. I wonder just how much it will take on a hard landing and if it's even repairable. The Discus as far as I can tell wasn't designed for a motor. But the video on U-Tube show one that must have been modified. It really performed well.
Old 05-08-2008, 07:18 PM
Bfan479