Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

spoilers?

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2002, 12:13 PM
00hex

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default spoilers?

They are flaps that stick up from the top of the wing. They reduce lift & increase drag. They allow the plane to descend at a steeper angle while landing.
R/C planes with spoilers are usually sailplanes. Full size jets use them too though. If you get a seat near the wing it's often quite easy to see them while the plane is landing; they stick up at quite a steep angle.
Old 10-21-2002, 04:21 PM
Ron Kay
My Feedback: (3)

Default spoilers?

I've got a question for you regarding spoilers...

I have a 3M F3B Genesis that I've been flying for the last several months. Unfortunately the filed where I fly is rough. On a typical approach I'll drop the flaps on final and line up for the landing. Just before contact I'll try to retract the flaps. If I don't, the rough terrain will do damage to either the flap or more likely the servo. I've replace the gears many time because of poor timing on my part. In any event, here is the question. I was thinking about installing spoiler(s) for use on this field. Any idea of the dimensions or most favorable location for the addition of a spoiler on the wing. Oh yes, it's an SD7032 foil.

The configuration and location of the servo makes it push the linkage to drop the flaps. I did think about installing some sort of spring or something similar to take the shock, but short of a major redesign I don't this is possible.

I look forward to you input on this issue...

Regards and good flying,
Ron[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-cool.gif[/img]
Old 10-22-2002, 10:09 AM
b1rd37

Default spoilers?

Ron Kay

Mon October 21, 2002 05:21 PM

I've got a question for you regarding spoilers...