Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

Hey crew, new to gliders - need some help.

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Hey crew, new to gliders - need some help.

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2008, 01:37 AM
air-madness

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hey crew, new to gliders - need some help.

Hey, guys. Several questions. I'm new to gliders, well, I will be when I actually purchase one. Anyway, I'm looking to buy a glider/sailplane. I really don't want to spend a fourtane on an ARF (I have all the gear since I fly nitro an all). Is the Tower Hobbies brand any good - it is very cheap in price?

Is there any such thing as a unit/device that is specifically used for gliders that allows the pilot to activate a motor? Now, now, I know all about speed controls and such, what I mean is there a unit that could allow me to use one of my extra channels on my transmitter to switch the motor on and off so I can get the glider up to altitude? I don't want to use any of my Cox engines as power pods (defeats the purpose with all that oily goo)); don't want a speed control; and really don't need variable power that a speed control offers.

I am basically looking for a glider that can be hand-launched, or hi-started that I will use as a UAV to rig a small wireless camera system on (weighs less than half an ounce).
Old 09-04-2008, 05:59 AM
rc4funmd

Default RE: Hey crew, new to gliders - need some help.

here is a place to look:
[link=http://forums.flyesl.com/forum.asp?FORUM_ID=14]ESL[/link]