Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Recommend my first DLG

Old 03-13-2009, 12:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recommend my first DLG

Great forum! New member, first post. I'm looking for recommendations on a DLG. I've been flying for around 25 years, a little bit of everything from 1/2 A to twin .60 warbirds, a few electric gliders and a short run at a helicopter- all sport flying, never any competition. Now I'd like to slide over into DLG's for a new experience. My budget is around $250 - $300. I'm not looking for a competition ship or a heavy trainer- something in the middle that will have good performance without sacrificing strength. I don't want to get a plane that I will outgrow in the near future, but am not looking to sacrifice durability for the last ounce of performance. With all the choices out there, and the subtle differences in performance, I am looking to you guys- the experts- for help. I know that there are always personal preferences that factor in, and there is no "right" ship for me, but I have no experience whatsoever, so any advice you can give will be appreciated. Thanks
Old 03-13-2009, 09:44 AM
TIA

Default RE: Recommend my first DLG

I'm in the same boat as you but you've put the question much more clearly than I ever could have done. Nice job!

From my experience in looking it seems like a used ship will be in order.

I have found that Kennedy Composites makes nice planes as well as Polecat, but Polecat is currently taking a break from the hobby.

I'll be watching this thread with interest. I hope AEAJR chimes in here soon as he will prolly have the best advice.

http://www.kennedycomposites.com/blaster2.htm

http://www.polecataero.com/products/sidewinder2

Old 03-13-2009, 12:14 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post