Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

Brushless Upgrade For GP Spectra???

Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Brushless Upgrade For GP Spectra???

Old 04-03-2009, 04:25 PM
  #1  
Mode1Mike
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Area 52, NE
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brushless Upgrade For GP Spectra???

Greetings all,

I have a stock Spectra ARF which I have flown off and on for the past 4 years. I've finally decided I want to upgrade to a brushless powerplant.

Can anyone recommend an easy bolt on replacement for the Spectra???

Thanks in advance.

Mike
Old 04-03-2009, 09:27 PM
  #2  
scaflock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bisbee, AZ
Posts: 170
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Brushless Upgrade For GP Spectra???

The only way that I know of to do a "direct" replacement would be to use an in-runner. Take a little time and set it up for an out runner. That will allow you to swing a larger prop without having to use a gear box. Something like an E-Flight 10 with a 2-3 cell Lipo would give you plenty of power for a 2 meter like the Spectra. Also spend a couple extra bucks and take it to a folding prop. Less drag when not in use and less chance of breaking them on landing.
Old 04-12-2009, 09:39 AM
  #3  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,573
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Brushless Upgrade For GP Spectra???

If you get rid of the NiCd pack you will drop a LOT of weight so I would suggest you plan that as part of your upgrade.

As far as a brushless motor, you can get an inrunner/greatbox combo or you can go to an outrunner. The the only thing wiht outrunners is you have to be mindful of the space inside the fuse for the spinning can. Some makes have long skinny designs. Others, like the Rimfires, have wide cans and may not clear.

Something in the 200 watt range should give you great climbs.

What is the width of the interior at the current motor mount location?
Old 04-12-2009, 10:13 AM
  #4  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,573
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Brushless Upgrade For GP Spectra???

You might find it helpful to post in this thread:
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_27..._3/key_/tm.htm

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.