Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

Something to consider in the UK

Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Something to consider in the UK

Old 04-09-2010, 11:52 AM
14MZ flyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Something to consider in the UK

Hello to all.

I have been flying R/C for many years and recently returned to slope soaring. I purchase my gliders from all over europe and the US. I recently purchased a glider called a Whisper from a well known stockist in the UK called South Coast Sailplanes. In all I have purchased six models from him.

I was flying the Whisper at a local slope a couple of days ago, it was in a 25mph wind and the model was flying with ballast. After about 15 minutes flying the model started flying eratically after some trim adjustment to the elevator the model was again under control. I landed the model shortly after, the landing was uneventful with the model settling down back into wind, and landing level on the grass slope, some yards in front of me. It was a good level landing, not hard and without the crow brakes being used.

Upon reaching the model I was astonished at the condition the model was in as there was a large break in the fuselage, along the join then down around the fuselage to the join at the bottom. The Left wing seat had broken and had moved inside the fuselage.

I contacted the seller to see what could be done about this incident, the reply from him was less than encouraging. His email consisted of these statements.

Thank you for your email and photos, unfortunately I am unable to help with this matter, as I was not at the scene. I am sorry for your misfortune but am unable to offer any other explanation or help in this situation.