RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-gliders-sailplanes-slope-soaring-112/)
-   -   Motor Suggestions for Endurance Solar Flight (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-gliders-sailplanes-slope-soaring-112/11642975-motor-suggestions-endurance-solar-flight.html)

MichaelMongin 11-14-2017 10:15 AM

Motor Suggestions for Endurance Solar Flight

I am looking for an efficient motor for an aircraft around 15lbs that is capable of low wattage cruise speeds. My background is mostly in airframes and design so any advice for a motor, ESC, battery system would be huge! My aim is to design the airplane around the best motor I can find (focusing on the elements I cannot easily adjust, ie. motor, battery, esc) so as to get the best efficiency out of the electronics and use solar panels on the wings to charge the batteries and sustain flight. This is a huge project and there are a team of us working on it, unfortunately we are all mechanical engineers and do not have an electrical engineer involved at the moment.

I have researched the AtlantikSolar plane and some others like it that have taken on this same feat but would like to know if there are newer motors or tests people have done with newer systems that are worth looking into. Thanks!
-Michael M.

Msflyer 01-09-2018 04:02 PM

Not sure if your asking on the right Forum for you answer? This is sailplanes and powered gliders. Is your aircraft going to be multi rotor or fixed wing? There are lots of motors on the market that will fly a 15 to 20lb aircraft like the Eflite power 180 and Rimfire has big motors, but as far as solar charging LiPo batteries, that’s out of my league.

UStik 01-10-2018 06:53 AM

Even if probably too late: