RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-gliders-sailplanes-slope-soaring-112/)
-   -   I could really use some help. (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-gliders-sailplanes-slope-soaring-112/8917236-i-could-really-use-some-help.html)

[email protected] 07-08-2009 07:25 PM

I could really use some help.

I am new to flying gliders. I have flown RC sport planes and Control line for years but sailplanes are new to me and I have to admit I really am getting into it. What I need help with is the electric part. For instance, If I build a 2 meter glider such as a Gently Lady and want to put an electric motor, ESC, battery, receiver and servos in the plane, I get lost from the servos up. I do not know what size motor it takes for what size plane and then what battery and ESC and receiver would go with it. I don’t know if you have to measure in volts….etc. Is there any simple way to explain this to a novice like me for the systems that should go in certain size sailplanes. I am not so much worried about which brand, I just need to know from the motor back the sequence and what I should use. I assume that the size of the plane would determine what size motor just like with a nitro engine. I have Futaba radios if that helps.

Any help you can give me to get me started would be greatly appreciated.

Mike

scaflock 07-08-2009 09:04 PM

RE: I could really use some help.

Hey Mike.

Do you happen to know Liquidity? He's in Byron as well and I just finished up a EP Gentle Lady for him. He seems to be very happy with the flight performance but he supplied the motor and though I know it's a Hacker knock-off I can't tell you where he got it.

I enclosed the motor in the nose, had a 2 cell lipo and the RX behind that and the servos in the stock location. I used mini servos and the balance came out pretty close.

Jeff

CaptainRandy 07-08-2009 09:33 PM

Mike,