Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
 How Tight Should Blades Be? >

How Tight Should Blades Be?

Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

How Tight Should Blades Be?

Old 03-09-2011, 01:41 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Valley Stream, NY
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How Tight Should Blades Be?

One other noob question for you veterans.

How tight should my main/rotor blades be? Should they be rigid or loose?
Old 03-09-2011, 02:50 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 938
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

I was told that the blades should be tight enough so that when you hold the heli sideways that they will not slip, but loose enough so you can turn them in the blade holders (so that they can adjust themselves during spool-up. After a while you will develop a "feel" for what is right and won't be having to turn your heli sideways.

Mack
Old 03-09-2011, 07:40 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Valley Stream, NY
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

Ok, that makes sense. When the blades come to a stop should there be movement? I am just trying to get a better understanding of how it should be.
Thank you for your response.
Old 03-10-2011, 05:52 AM
  #4  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Rafael23cc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Junction City, KS
Posts: 2,961
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?


ORIGINAL: hagosrush

When the blades come to a stop should there be movement?
No.

The technique for testing the blades "tightness" goes like this:

Hold the helicopter sideways, holding the head horizontal to the ground. The blades should not move on the grips. Give the heli a sharp shake, and the blades should fold down about half way, preferably the same distance.

Rafael
Old 03-10-2011, 06:27 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Valley Stream, NY
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

ah ok, I will try that this morning. Thank you Rafael.
Old 03-10-2011, 01:19 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Valley Stream, NY
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

Thank you very much Rafael, my blades are secure and the heli is does shake out of control when it starts up or slows down.
Old 03-10-2011, 06:37 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
phillyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tortola , VIRGIN ISLANDS (BRITISH)
Posts: 2,300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

Hey Bro
Make sure all the frame screws are done up, blades need balancing, main shaft or feathering shaft bent or skids are slack. Spool up the heli without the main blades andsee if it still happens.
Cheers
Old 03-11-2011, 06:25 AM
  #8  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Rafael23cc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Junction City, KS
Posts: 2,961
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

ORIGINAL: phillyD

Hey Bro
Make sure all the frame screws are done up, blades need balancing, main shaft or feathering shaft bent or skids are slack. Spool up the heli without the main blades and see if it still happens.
Cheers
Please, NEVER suggest to anyone to spool up a helicopter without the load of the blades.

ORIGINAL: hagosrush
Thank you very much Rafael, my blades are secure and the heli is does shake out of control when it starts up or slows down.
The blades might be a little too tight. You might have to power thru the shaking to see if it will smooth out as the rpm go up. DO NOT spool up without blades, but do follow phillyD suggestions in checking everything else on the helicopter. I had a violent shaking in one of my helicopters a few seasons ago, and it ended up being the top two screws on the frame (the ones that hold the top bearing of the main shaft) were loose and letting the main shaft wobble.

Rafael
Old 03-11-2011, 06:29 AM
  #9  
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,126
Received 369 Likes on 297 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

What Rafael said
Old 03-11-2011, 06:31 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Valley Stream, NY
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?


ORIGINAL: Rafael23cc

ORIGINAL: phillyD

Hey Bro
Make sure all the frame screws are done up, blades need balancing, main shaft or feathering shaft bent or skids are slack. Spool up the heli without the main blades and see if it still happens.
Cheers
Please, NEVER suggest to anyone to spool up a helicopter without the load of the blades.



Rafael
Being the new guy, may I ask why it is suggested to never do that?
Old 03-11-2011, 06:35 AM
  #11  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Rafael23cc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Junction City, KS
Posts: 2,961
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

the easy answer would be that spooling up the heli without blades is the quickest way to burn up your engine. Not to mention that the helicopter gearing is designed to spin up a certain "weight" and if you remove that weight, you are for certain to overspeed the components potentially causing catastrophic failure.

Sorry, I was editing my previous post to add information and the thread cntinued it's path without me.

Rafael
Old 03-11-2011, 06:45 AM
  #12  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Valley Stream, NY
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

Well Ill just be a monkeys uncle if I am not learning new things every ten seconds on this forum.
Old 12-08-2011, 03:39 AM
  #13  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SCCP, Luzon, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

Yes, soaking it all up...Thank you, guys.
Old 12-09-2011, 06:32 PM
  #14  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Juan, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

Yes just like Rafael pointed out. The blades should not be pullled by gravity alonebut must fall with a quick nudge. That is typical for a 450 and lower classes, however the bigger the bird the harder nudge needed to deflect them.
Old 12-15-2011, 03:26 PM
  #15  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Atoka, TN
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

Should the tail blades be set the same way?
Old 12-15-2011, 06:01 PM
  #16  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Juan, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

No, the tail blades should be loose given that they spin two or three times faster than the main head.

Tails however, are a bit more forgiving, shafts don't bend as easily and tail vibration or one-way
yawsets in if it's really messed up.

Hope this helps.
Old 12-16-2011, 01:41 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: elmira, NY
Posts: 775
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

yeah umm if you were going to see if the wobble is there without the blades you wouldnt just pin it to full throttle lmao u will see it in the first 5 seconds even just going up slow i would say dont do it because the birdie will spin around from tail  but there again u can hold it to the floor and slowly spool it up and chances are you wont burn a motor but hey what do i know just my 2cents.
Old 12-17-2011, 08:35 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
phillyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tortola , VIRGIN ISLANDS (BRITISH)
Posts: 2,300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

Ok Sirs
All are correct. bad word usage on my part.."spool up" you would just get the head to turn at a slow speed to see if the wobble appears. If it does it might be the shaft or bad main shaft bearings. if it doesthis with the blade, slack blades in grips, bent feathering shaft or I know someone whose blade grip bearings were bad.
Old 12-18-2011, 04:46 AM
  #19  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Mount Orab, OH
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

i just learned something new as well. my Esky manual came witha loose page for the transmitter that"very strongly" recommends removing the blades before powering up the first time". i didnt do this out of fearfor what it would do to the assembly, and now i know! thanks for the warning
Old 12-18-2011, 07:07 AM
  #20  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Atoka, TN
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How Tight Should Blades Be?

I powered my honeybee up without blades and it was fine. I didn't power it all the way up just enough to check for vibration. Mine recommended the same procedure.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.