Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Beginner Heli?

Old 11-06-2011, 07:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner Heli?

Hi All,
I have no idea what I should be looking for in a beginner R/C Helicopter. I'm looking to get one for my dad for Christmas this year, but don't know what I should be looking for.
I don't want anything too big or complicated as this would be his first model.
What are some good brands/specs I should be looking for? Any recommendations? Any help would definitely be appreciated!

-Sam
Old 11-06-2011, 07:23 PM

Default RE: Beginner Heli?

I'm still really new to Helicopters, so you don't have to take my post with face value. Although, from what I've read, seen, and from my own experiences. I would say each beginner may need a different helicopter. If your dad is just looking for some instant fun and reward. Go with a Blade MCX RTF, or any other reputable brand name coaxial helicopter.

But when it comes to people like myself. My first Heli is a Blade MSR which is one step above coaxial's. It's a fixed pitch single rotor heli. I made the leap to something like that, because I've already been in surface based RC for 6 years, and I've tried to fly a couples friend's heli's before. So I knew I would outgrow a coaxial heli pretty quick.

So I think you should base it on your dad's personality style. If you think he's going to only fly it once in a while, get a simple coaxial. Although, if he is already interested in rc heli's, and this isn't a surprise for him; along with him being the "dedicated" type, then go with a nice fixed pitch for him to grow with.

But... I'm still new. I don't know a whole lot in the helicopter world, just my 2 cents.
Old 11-06-2011, 07:32 PM

What is the difference between coaxial and a fixed pitch single rotor heli? Sorry, like I said, totally new to this area of expertise.