Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

RTF heli for Phoenix FS too

Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

RTF heli for Phoenix FS too

Old 02-10-2012, 07:24 PM
  #1  
mstecker
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los+Angeles, CA
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RTF heli for Phoenix FS too

I am new to RChelis, but have flown airplanes with Futaba radios for many years. Since I have a Futaba helicopter radio FP-T7UHP I though a flight simulator like Phoenix would be a good start. However, Phoenix does not recognize my transmitter, so I though maybe a RTF beginners helicopter might operate Phoenix. However, I can not seem to find a RTF helicopter that will work with Phoenix. Can anyone sugget one? I like the Walkera V200D02 and Blade SR120, but they are apparently not compatable with Phoenix.

Mike
Old 02-11-2012, 07:57 AM
  #2  
Rafael23cc
My Feedback: (6)
 
Rafael23cc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Junction City, KS
Posts: 2,961
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: RTF heli for Phoenix FS too

[link]http://www.phoenix-simv3.com/default.asp[/link]

The helicopter is not compatible with the simulator. The radio is. You first need to check why is the software not recognizing your Futaba radio.

Rafael
Old 02-11-2012, 09:58 AM
  #3  
jcmors
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Yankton, SD
Posts: 226
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: RTF heli for Phoenix FS too

I use a futabe 8fgs with Pheonix. I had to order the Phoenix adaptor for futabe square training ports here: http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...pter-RTMAFUTSQ If you have the round training port on your radio then this is the one you need: http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...ter-RTMAFUTRND

I can't really find any info online about that model futaba. If it doesn't have either the round or the square training port on the back of it then it may not work at all. If you are looking for a tx that works with pheonix, pretty much you want to read the specs and make sure that it has some sort of trainer port on it, then depending on what sort of port it is you will need an adaptor to fit. From what I understand the Spectrum brand radios work with it with the cable that comes in the box from the Dx5e upwards.

Hope that helps.

Jim
Old 02-11-2012, 11:39 AM
  #4  
mstecker
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los+Angeles, CA
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RTF heli for Phoenix FS too

Hi Jim:
Thanks so much for your help. I did get the round Futaba adapter RTMAFUTRND along with the Phoenix FS from heliproz.com: http://www.heliproz.com/prodinfo.asp?number=RTMAFUTRND
However, the Phoenix program does not detect my Futaba FP-T7UHP (PDF manual can be downloaded via a Google search) transmitter which is an old one from about 1990 that I use in the PPM mode with Phoenix::

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...4ZrEiAJ0QeE7oQ

i have emailed Phoenix in the UK and telephoned Horizon Hobbies in the USA and they say it should work, but it does not. So I will probably return Phoenix to HeliProz.com for a refund. Instead I will try the Dynam or Esky USB controller with Clearview software. It is about 1/2 the price of phoenix and that includes a two stick USB controller
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t2lSUhp762c

Hopefully, that should work.

Mike

ORIGINAL: jcmors

I use a futabe 8fgs with Pheonix. I had to order the Phoenix adaptor for futabe square training ports here: http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...pter-RTMAFUTSQ If you have the round training port on your radio then this is the one you need: http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...ter-RTMAFUTRND

I can't really find any info online about that model futaba. If it doesn't have either the round or the square training port on the back of it then it may not work at all. If you are looking for a tx that works with pheonix, pretty much you want to read the specs and make sure that it has some sort of trainer port on it, then depending on what sort of port it is you will need an adaptor to fit. From what I understand the Spectrum brand radios work with it with the cable that comes in the box from the Dx5e upwards.

Hope that helps.

Jim
Old 02-11-2012, 06:28 PM
  #5  
mstecker
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los+Angeles, CA
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RTF heli for Phoenix FS too

Does anyone have experience with this Simulator Cable for PhoenixRC XTR G5 AeroFly FMS VRC at:

http://www.rcpal.com/simulator-cable...vrc-p-158.html

I wonder if it will work with the Phoenix Flight Simulator, v3 I bought for $129 and a PPM mode Futaba transmitter with rear round trainer jack:

I bought the Phoenix FS which comes with a USB/Dongle cord, but it will not work with my Futaba transmitter and round adapter cable RTMAFUTRND. I get an error message that my transmitter is not connected, but it is.

Mike




Old 02-13-2012, 08:40 AM
  #6  
Rafael23cc
My Feedback: (6)
 
Rafael23cc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Junction City, KS
Posts: 2,961
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: RTF heli for Phoenix FS too


ORIGINAL: mstecker
..... So I will probably return Phoenix to HeliProz.com for a refund. .......Mike
See if they would exchange it for the version that includes the spektrum radio. That will solve all your problems. You might have to pay for the difference, but you will be happy with the results.

Rafael
Old 02-16-2012, 03:44 PM
  #7  
mstecker
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los+Angeles, CA
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RTF heli for Phoenix FS too

I was unable to get the Phoenix Flight Simulator to work with my Futaba transmitter after several emails to Phoenix support. They said it should work with my transmitter and adapter, but it did not. So I returned Phoenix and got the Clearview flight simulator ($40) and RC Tech (Dynam ) USB controller ($20). This system works great and at $60 is about 1/2 the cost of Phoenix and 1/3 of RealFlight.

Mike

ORIGINAL: Rafael23cc


ORIGINAL: mstecker
..... So I will probably return Phoenix to HeliProz.com for a refund. .......Mike
See if they would exchange it for the version that includes the spektrum radio. That will solve all your problems. You might have to pay for the difference, but you will be happy with the results.

Rafael

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.