Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Need advice on beginning this amazing hobby

Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Need advice on beginning this amazing hobby

Old 01-28-2014, 01:50 AM
webenzyme

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice on beginning this amazing hobby

Hi fellow hobbyists,

I have very little experience in 2ch and 3ch IR Coaxial helis.

I have set my short term Goal to flying a 4ch/6ch FP/CP Scale rc helicopter (the more realistic looking the better) budget for this is 250$-300$, new or used.

I have shortlisted a few below
Heli-Max EC145, Heli-Max MD-530, Hubsan H101D Lynx, Esky Honey Bee CPX, Nine Eagles Solo Pro Bravo

I need suggestions in choosing the above ones or any other helis that meet the following criteria:
1) Remote must be of standard type
2) Must be flybarless
3) Scale fuselage
4) budget $200-$300 (preferably new)

Flying this heli will be my short term goal, Also recommend a/few trainer rc heli(s) to progress to my goal.

Thanks
Old 01-30-2014, 06:31 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 152 Likes on 123 Posts

I reviewed the EC-145 for model aviation, here's the link
http://www.modelaviation.com/helimaxec145
Old 02-03-2014, 10:00 PM
Hedgewarden

W enzyme,
I too am very noob. However, I strarted with a pair of Propel Speedstars purchased from Radio Shack, post Christmas close out sale. Transmitter has both 3 ch "intermediate" and 4 ch "advanced" modes, and slow and fastmodes. For several reasons, chief being that yaw was on the right stick in 3 ch mode and the normal left stick in 4ch mode, and I did not want to have to relearn yaw control, I learned 4ch without the usual coaxial or 3ch startup.